“Getting Gone” by Mutual Benefit

Mutual Benefit recently share their new video for “Getting Gone.” Taken from their full-length, Skip a Sinking Stone (out now on Mom+Pop), the film contrasts gritty, urban imagery against softer natural images that perfectly complement the song. “I think of this video as an attempt to visualize some sort of vague nostalgia,” says Mutual Benefit’s Jordan Lee. “Where you let time do its thing until what’s left of confusing, distant memories is just a tranquil spot where the rays of the sun are shining from between the leaves in the trees.”

“This video reveals people’s thoughts and secrets while maintaining their anonymity,” expands video director Anna Powell. “With Hugh (Sherman Donkin)’s thoughtful and detail-oriented camera work, we were able to depict these stories through a rural narrative.”

Mutual Benefit will be releasing a limited run of 100 cassettes for Cassette Store Day on October 17th called the Living Room Sessions. It will include 4 tracks from Skip a Sinking Stone recorded acoustic in Lee’s Brooklyn apartment.

Mutual Benefit Tour Dates:

Fri. Oct. 7 — Brooklyn, NY @ Industry City in Sunset Park (The Creative Independent & Housing Works’ The Friday Party at Brooklyn Outpost)
Sat. Nov. 12 – Berlin, DE @ Badehaus Szimpla
Sun. Nov. 13 – Hamburg, DE @ Nochtspeicher
Mon. Nov. 14 – Brussels, BE @ Le Witloofbar
Tue. Nov. 15 – Rotterdam, NL @ Rotown
Thu. Nov. 17 – London, UK @ Cecil Sharp House Fri.
Nov. 18 – Sheffield, UK @ Picture House Social
Sat. Nov. 19 – Glasgow, UK @ The Hug and Pint
Sun. Nov. 20 – Dublin, IE @ Whelan’s
Tue. Nov. 22 – Manchester, UK @ Gullivers
Wed. Nov. 23 – Birmingham, UK @ Hare & Hounds
Thu. Nov. 24 – Bristol, UK @ The Lantern
Fri. Nov. 25 – Oxford, UK @ Bullingdon