Yo La Tengo announce ‘Stuff Like That There’

Yo La Tengo announces new album 'Stuff Like That There.' Out August 28th on Matador.

Yo La Tengo are celebrating their 30th anniversary with the release of Stuff Like That There on August 28th via Matador Records, and will embark on a world tour starting June 26th at Sled Island Music & Arts Festival in Calgary, AB. The Band are alos sharing a new version of “Deeper into movies” and a cover of The Special Pillow’s “Automatic Doom.”

The trio of Ira Kaplan, Georgia Hubley and James McNew now return as a quartet, reuniting with former member Dave Schramm on electric guitar as they revisit the original concept of their previous release Fakebook (a mix of cover songs, “covers” of Yo La Tengo songs, and brand new originals) on its 25th anniversary. This unprecedented live set-up — Ira on acoustic guitar, Georgia up-front on a small kit, and James on upright bass — marks the first occasion of this particular Yo La Tengo incarnation touring together (and since it took them 31 years to get around to doing so, could very well also be the last).

A1: My Heart’s Not in It (Darlene McCrea)
A2: Rickety
A3: I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry (Hank Williams)
A4: All Your Secrets (remake of track from Popular Songs)
A5: The Ballad of Red Buckets (remake of track from Electr-o-pura)
A6: Friday I’m in Love (The Cure)
A7: Before We Stopped to Think (Great Plains)
B1: Butchie’s Tune (The Lovin’ Spoonful)
B2: Automatic Doom (Special Pillow)
B3: Awhileaway
B4: I Can Feel the Ice Melting (The Parliaments)
B5: Naples (Antietam)
B6: Deeper Into Movies (remake of track from I Can Hear the Heart Beating as One)
B7: Somebody’s in Love (The Cosmic Rays with Le Sun Ra and Arkestra)

Tour Dates:
Friday, June 26 – Calgary, AB – Sled Island Music & Arts Festival
Saturday, September 5 – San Sebastian, Spain – Kutxa Kultur Festibla
Wednesday, September 23 – Troy, NY – Troy Savings Bank Music Hall*
Thursday, September 24 – Glenside, PA – Keswick Theatre*
Friday, September 25 – Washington, DC – Lincoln Theatre*
Saturday, September 26 – Durham, NC – The Carolina Theatre of Durham*
Sunday, September 27 – Atlanta, GA – Variety Playhouse*
Tuesday, September 29 – Millvale, PA – Mr. Smalls Theatre*
Wednesday, September 30 – Toronto, ON – Queen Elizabeth*
Friday, October 2 – Montreal, QC – Corona Theatre*
Saturday, October 3 – Boston, MA – The Wilbur Theatre*
Thursday, October 15 – Dublin, Ireland – National Concert Hall*
Friday, October 16 – Glasgow, Scotland – The Garage*
Sunday, October 18 – Bristol, UK – Colston Hall*
Monday, October 19 – Coventry, UK – Warwick Arts Center*
Tuesday, October 20 – London, UK – O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire*
Friday, October 23 – Paris, France – La Cigale*
Saturday, October 24 – Holland, Amserdam – Paradiso*
Sunday, October 25 – Leuven, Belgium – Het Depot*
Tuesday, October 27 – Berlin, Germany – Heimathafen*
Wednesday, October 28 – Koln, Germany – Kulturkirche*
Thursday, November 5 – Chicago, IL – The Vic Theatre*
Friday, November 6 – Madison, WI – Barrymore Theatre*
Saturday, November 7 – Minneapolis, MN – Pantages Theatre*
Monday, November 9 – Boulder, CO – Boulder Theater*
Friday, November 13 – Los Angeles, CA – The Theatre at Ace Hotel*
Saturday, November 14 – San Francisco, CA – The Masonic*
Tuesday, November 17 – Eugene, OR – WOW Hall*
Wednesday, November 18 – Portland, OR – Revolution Hall*
Friday, November 20 – Seattle – Neptune Theatre*
Saturday, November 21 – Vancouver, BC – Vogue Theatre*
*denotes acoustic set-up

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *