Watch Amen Dunes Video “Splits Are Parted”

Amen Dunes shares his Video for the single "Splits Are Parted", his album 'Love' is now out on Sacred Bones

Having toured extensively since releasing his album, Love, earlier this year via Sacred Bones,Amen Dunes (aka Damon McMahon) shares the new video for album standout track, “Splits Are Parted.” As described by McMahon, “Splits Are Parted” is “a song about always leaving and always looking back.” Director Jesse Hlebo then went on to quote Jean Luc Nancy commenting on the thoughts behind the video, “There is no other meaning than the meaning of circulation. But this circulation goes in all directions at once . . . ” Watch it below.

Amen Dunes, the project of New York-based Damon McMahon released Love via Sacred Bones this past spring. The album is inarguably McMahon’s most focused and ambitious work yet. Amen Dunes has always been rooted in traditional song and sound, but Love is his first work in which this so clearly shines through. The guiding influence of Astral Weeks, Sam Cooke, Tim Hardin, Marvin Gaye, Hector Lavoe, and the cosmic non-verbal mediations of Leon Thomas, all kept vigil over the songwriting of Love, and the spirit of late 60’s/early 70’s spiritual jazz of Pharaoh Sanders and Alice Coltrane channeled the sound. They are elemental songs about time, love and memory.


Fri. Sep. 12 – Amsterdam, NL @ Melkweg

Sat. Sep. 13 – Aarhus, NL @ Atlas

Sun. Sep. 14 – Copenhagen, DK @ Huset KBH

Mon. Sep. 15 – Hamburg, DE @ Astra Stube

Wed. Sep. 17 – Nuremburg, DE @ Muz Club

Fri. Sep. 19 – Ruoms, FR @ Heart of Glass Festival

Sat. Sep. 20 – Angers, FR @ Levitation Festival

Tue. Sep. 23 – Dublin, IE @ The Workmans Club

Wed. Sep. 24 – Limerick, IE @ Dolans

Thu. Sep. 25 – Cork, IE @ The Pavillion

Fri. Sep. 26 – Liverpool, UK @ Liverpool International Festival of Psychedelia

Sat. Sep. 27 – Dunkerque, FR @ 4ecluses

Mon. Sep. 29 – Marseille, FR @ Humeru Massacrante

Tue. Sep. 30 – Barcelona, ES @ Almodobar

Thu. Oct. 2 – Madrid, ES @ VillaManuela Festival

Fri. Oct. 3 – Gulmaraes, PT @ CAAA

Sat. Oct. 4 – Lisbon, PT @ ZBD

Wed. Oct. 8 – Lausanne, FR @ Le Bourg

Thu. Oct. 9 – Rorschach, CH @ Treppenhaus

Fri. Oct. 10 – Luzern, CH @ Sudpol

Sat. Oct. 11 – Dudlingen, CH @ Bad Bonn

Fri. Oct. 24 – Ridgewood, NY @ Trans Pecos [Sacred Bones CMJ Showcase]

Fri. Nov. 21 – Brussels, BE @ Maison Des Musiques

Sat. Nov. 22 – Rotterdam, NL @ Rowton

Sun. Nov. 23 – Utrecht, NL @ Le Guess Who?

Tue. Nov. 25 – Paris, FR @ Point Emphémére

Wed. Nov. 26 – London, UK @ TBA

Thu. Nov. 27 – Cologne, DE @ The Week-End Festival

Fri. Nov. 28 – Berlin, DE @ Monarch

Sat. Nov. 29 – Leuwaarden, NL @ Explore The North Festival

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *