Parkay Quarts Announce ‘Content Nausea’

Parkay Quarts Announce 'Content Nausea,' Listen To the new Song "Uncast Shadow Of A Southern Myth"

Content Nausea, Parkay Quarts’ second release of 2014, is the inevitable repercussion to Sunbathing Animal’s pure emotion. With one member completing a degree in mathematics, and another starting a family, Content Nausea features mostly the work of Andrew Savage and Austin Brown, with the help of a few friends (Jackie-O Motherf*cker’s Jef Brown on Saxaphone and Eaters’ Bob Jones on fiddle). This likely explains the homophonic name shift, which was previously used on last years’ “Tally All the Things That You Broke.” Featuring some of the bands most accessible and dissonant recordings, Content Nausea was recorded, mixed and mastered in two weeks on a 4-track tape machine. The band wanted something that listeners could “live with over the winter.” At 35 minutes, the record lies somewhere between an EP and an LP, but who’s counting?

On Content Nausea, we find the band exploring sounds that were previously only hinted at; Townes Van Zandt, Warren Zevon, and Dylan are evident points of departure on “Uncast Shadow of a Southern Myth”, a lonesome tale about “two men tragically colliding in the deep south,” explains Savage. The 13th Floor Elevators get a hat tip via NYC reinterpretation of “Slide Machine”, and there’s even an unexpected, gender-bending cover of Nancy Sinatra’s “These Boots Are Made for Walking”. “A personal karaoke standard,” explains Savage. Mostly, Content Nausea reflects the rapid change in the band’s hometown of New York City, while at the same time emphasizing the changes in the band itself. The record’s sleeve is a bleak vision of Freedom-Tower-era NYC flooded by  content.


1. Everyday It Starts

2. Content Nausea

3. Urban Ease

4. Slide Machine

5. Kevlar Walls

6. Pretty Machines

7. Psycho Structures

8. The Map

9. These Boots

10. Insufferable

11. No Concept

12. Uncast Shadow Of A Southern Myth




Tue. Oct 21 – Brooklyn, NY @ Saint Vitus (as PCPC) w/ Thurston Moore

Wed. Oct 22 – Boston MA @ The Sinclair (as PCPC) w/ Thurston Moore

Fri. Oct 24 – Providence, RI @ The Met (as PCPC) w/ Thurston Moore

Sat. Oct 25 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle (as PCPC) w/ Thurston Moore

Sun. Oct 26 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade NYC (as PCPC) w/ Thurston Moore

Thu. Nov 6 – Washington DC @ DC9 (as Parkay Quarts)

Sat. Nov 8 – Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA (as Parkay Quarts)

Thu. Nov 13 – Lille, France @ Le Grand Mix (as Parkay Quarts)

Fri. Nov14 – Paris, France @ La Cigale (as Parkay Quarts)

Sat. Nov 15 – Nantes, France @ Stereolux (as Parkay Quarts)

Mon. Nov 17 – Toulose, France @ Bikini (as Parkay Quarts)

Wed. Nov 19 – Oostende, Belgium @ De Zwerver (as PCPC)

Thu. Nov 20 – Brussels, Belgium @ Botanique (as Parkay Quarts)

Fri. Nov 21 – Utrecht, Holland @ Le Guess Who (as Parkay Quarts)

Sat. Nov 22 – Amsterdam, Holland @ The Vrankrijk (as PCPC)

Sun. Nov 23 – Utrecht, Holland @ Le Guess Who (as PCPC)

Mon. Nov 24 – Ramsgate, UK @ Ramsgate Music Hall (as PCPC)

Tue. Nov 25 – London, UK @ Electroworkz (as PCPC)

Wed. Nov 26 – Leeds, UK @ Wardrobe (as Parkay Quarts)

Thu. Nov 27 – London, UK @ The Laundry (as Parkay Quarts)

Sat. Nov 29 – Koln, Germany @ Museum Ludwig (as Parkay Quarts)

Sun. Nov 30 – Zurich, Switzerland @ Rote Frabrik (as Parkay Quarts)

Thu. Dec 11 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall (as Parquet Courts)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *