Iceage Announce New Album, Share New Song

Iceage Announce New Album, 'Plowing Into The Field Of Love', Out October 7th On Matador records, And Release Video "Forever" Iceage play 9/17 in Syndey, AU

Plowing Into The Field Of Love is the third album from Copenhagen’s Iceage.  Channeling the rage and emotion of their tempestuous early releases into finely honed musicianship, Plowing Into The Field of Love features piano, mandolin, viola and organ atop Johan Suurballe-Wieth‘s sharp guitars and the lolloping, synchronized rhythm section of Jacob Tvilling Pless and Dan Kjær Nielsen. The record has a clear, uncompressed sound, and Elias Bender Rønnenfelt‘s desperate vocals are out front, nakedly accountable for the words.

On this album, Rønnenfelt sings of what it is like to be out in the world, dizzy with its offerings, perched on a plateau of false confidence, bliss, fantasy and delirious self-denial. The autobiographical “Forever,” for which Iceage have shared the video today, begins with a pretty repetitive motif over the words, “I always had the sense that I was split in two,” and climaxes with a sunburst of horns recalling South African spiritual jazz great Mongezi Feza: “If I could dive into the other, I’d lose myself forever.” At the other extreme, the album evokes a sort of euphoria, especially in the unexpectedly upbeat country number “The Lord’s Favorite.”

Plowing Into The Field Of Love is out October 7th on Matador Records. It is available for pre-order now. “The Lord’s Favorite” and “Forever” will be offered as instant downloads with all pre-orders via Amazon and iTunes. Watch the videos for those two songs below.

Iceage will tour Australia, North America and Europe this fall in support of Plowing Into The Field Of Love. All dates are below.





01. On My Fingers

02. The Lord’s Favorite

03. How Many

04. Glassy Eyed, Dormant and Veiled

05. Stay

06. Let It Vanish

07. Abundant Living

08. Forever

09. Cimmerian Shade

10. Against The Moon

11. Simony

12. Plowing Into The Field Of Love


Wed. Sep. 17 – Syndey, AU @ Good God Small Club

Thu. Sep. 18 – Melbourne, AU @ Hugs & Kisses

Fri. Sep. 19 – Fortitude Valley, Queensland, AU @ The Brightside

Fri. Oct. 10 – Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church w/ Helm

Sat. Oct. 11 – Baltimore, MD @ Metro Gallery w/ Helm

Sun. Oct. 12 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom w/ Helm

Wed. Oct. 15 – Easthampton, MA @ The Flywheel Arts Collective w/ Helm

Thu. Oct. 16 – Boston, Ma @ The Great Scott w/ Helm and Rakta

Fri. Oct. 17 – Montreal, QC @ La Vitrola w/ Merchandise, Lower, Father Murphy

Sat. Oct. 18 – Ottawa, ON @ Gabba Hey w/ Father Murphy

Sun. Oct. 19 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe w/ Father Murphy

Tue. Oct. 21 – Detroit, MI @ PJ’s Lager House w/ Helm, Father Murphy

Wed. Oct. 22 – Chicago, IL @ The Empty Bottle w/ Helm, Father Murphy

Thu. Oct. 23 – Minneapolis, MN @ Triple Rock w/ Helm

Fri. Oct. 24 – Omaha, NE @ Slowdown w/ Helm

Sat. Oct. 25 – Lawrence, KS @ Jackpot Music Hall w/ Helm

Sun. Oct. 26 – Denver, CO @ Hi-Dive w/ Helm

Mon. Oct. 27 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court w/ Helm

Wed. Oct. 29 – Reno, NV @ Holland Project w/ Helm

Fri. Oct. 31 – San Francisco, CA @ Elbo Room w/ Helm

Sat. Nov. 1 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo w/ Helm + Rakta

Sun. Nov. 2 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo w/ Helm

Mon. Nov. 3 – San Diego, CA @ The Casbah w/ Helm

Tue. Nov. 4 – Phoenix, AZ @ 51 West w/ Helm

Wed. Nov. 5 – Albuquerque, NM @ Sister w/ Helm

Sat. Nov. 8 – Austin, TX @ Fun Fun Fun Fest

Fri. Nov. 21 – Utrecht, NL @ Le Guess Who? Festival

Sat. Nov. 22 – Hamburg, DE @ Uebel & Gefahrlich

Sun. Nov. 23 – Trier, DE @ Exhaus

Mon. Nov. 24 – Berlin, DE @ Berghain Kantine

Tue. Nov. 25 – Esslingen, DE @ Komma

Wed. Nov. 26 – Vienna, AT @ Arena

Thu. Nov. 27 – Munich, DE @ Strom

Fri. Nov. 28 – Zurich, CH @ Kinski

Sat. Nov. 29 – Brussels, BE @ Ancienne Belgique

Sun. Nov. 30 – Antwerpen, BE @ Het Bos

Mon. Dec. 1 – Paris, FR @ Nouveau Casino

Tue. Dec. 2 – London, UK @ 100 Club

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *