“Right Now” by Amber Arcades

Amber Arcades, the moniker of Dutch musician Annelotte de Graaf, is to release her debut album, Fading Lines, on June 3rd via Heavenly. Today she shares the video for the album’s lead single “Right Now”. The video was filmed by Jeroen van der Poel & Anna de Rijk, who said the following:

Recorded at Strange Weather Studio in New York with producer Ben Greenberg (The Men, Beach Fossils, Destruction Unit), ‘Fading Lines’ was inspired by time, continuity, coincidence and magic. Other inspirations include early-morning jetlag and an artist’s plans for a utopian city (‘Constant’s Dream’). Although that sounds pretty dreamy (and these songs do have wonderful ethereal qualities), De Graaf’s dreams are not the whimsical kind. De Graaf’s dreams have led to her working as a legal aide on UN war crime tribunals (she currently works in human rights law with people leaving Syria), to inviting strangers to share her Utrecht squat (which led to a friendship and later to her signing to Heavenly), and to spending her life savings on a flight to New York because that’s where she wanted to record her first album.

After researching producers and deciding to work with Greenberg, Annelotte was joined by Shane Butler and Keven Lareau of Quilt on guitar and bass, Jackson Pollis of Real Estate on drums, plus Meg Duffy on slide guitar on the eerie, clip-clopping ‘Apophenia’. They listened to “a lot of Suicide, Broadcast, Stereolab, Yo La Tengo, The Gun Club…” and worked on the songs that Annelotte had written at home in Utrecht. “In New York everything came together beautifully – the whole team, the producer and the band. It was a magical time – writing an album had been an abstract thing in my mind and recording it in New York had been a wild, surreal plan. It never really occurred to me that it would happen until I sat on the plane. I had this money in my savings account and I thought, I’m going to make an album.”

Amber Arcades
Fading Lights
Heavenly Recordings

1. Come With Me
2. Constant’s Dream
3. Fading Lines
4. I Will Follow
5. Perpetuum Mobile
6. Right Now
7. Apophenia
8. This Time
9. Turning Light
10. White Fuzz

Amber Arcades’ Tour dates

Sunday 6th March – Headrow House, Leeds (w/ Palehound)
Monday 7th March – Sticky Mike’s Frog Bar, Brighton (w/ Palehound)
Friday 11th March – Paradiso, Amsterdam, Netherlands – London Calling
Saturday 12th March – Moth Club, London (w/ Gwenno)
Wednesday 30th March – Cafe Bonnefooi, Brussels, Belgium
Saturday 9th April – Gorilla, Manchester (w/ Nada Surf)
Sunday 10th April – King Tuts, Glasgow (w/ Nada Surf)
Monday 11th April – Electric Ballroom, London (w/ Nada Surf)
Saturday 16th April – Tivoli De Helling, Utrecht, Netherlands – Record Store Day Afterparty
Thursday 19th May – Latest Music Bar, Brighton – The Great Escape
Thursday 2nd June – Ekko, Utrecht, Netherlands – Album Launch Party
Saturday 4th June – Tamworth-in-Arden – Lunar Festival
Tuesday 7th June – The Lexington, London – Album Launch Party
Wednesday 8th June – L’espace B, Paris, France
Friday 10th June – 4ad, Diksmuide, Belgium
Saturday 11th June – Auster-Club, Berlin, Germany
Friday 22nd July – Huntingdon, Abbots Ripton – Secret Garden Party
Saturday 23rd July – Thirsk, North Yorkshire – Deer Shed Festival
Sunday 21st August – Crickhowell, Powys – Green Man Festival
Saturday 27th August – Amsterdam, Netherlands – Woods Festival
Friday 2nd September – Tollard Royal, Wiltshire – End Of The Road Festival