“Conceptual Romance” by Jenny Hval

Following the release of Blood Bitch’s debut singles, “Female Vampire” and “Conceptual Romance,” Jenny Hval now presents the singularly striking video for “Conceptual Romance.” Longtime collaborator and frequent touring member of the band, director Zia Anger, who has directed previous Hval videos, including Apocalypse, girl’s “That Battle Is Over,” “Sabbath,” and 2013’s “Innocence Is Kinky,” describes the video as “a conceptual ménage a trois between Jenny, myself, and cheap tricks. It is a literal burial of the effigies we have created in our video and performance collaborations over the past three years.” Anger expands on the idea behind the “Conceptual Romance” video:

“To be reborn in a womb of dirt that once was a grave of death. When I was a tiny child I saw my mother do a performance piece where she wore a skin suit just like the ones in the video. It really disturbed me, to have others see my mother ‘naked.’ We’ve moved from complete and total censorship to a world where you can commodify your body if you resemble a certain ideal. Some people have a choice in this, others do not. We found toy versions of some of the most oppressive, exclusive, phallic equipment there is (a drone and a steady cam) and decided to see what we could make with them. Let’s unchain ourselves from our Instagram, our carefully curated images and self-commodification, trendy record labels, and fancy cameras.”

Jenny Hval’s Blood Bitch is out September 30th via Sacred Bones. Hval will tour all over North America and Europe this fall. All dates are below.

Jenny Hval Tour Dates:
Fri. Aug. 5 – Katowice, PL @ Off Festival
Sun. Sep. 4 – Larmer Tree Gardens, UK @ End of the Road
Wed. Sep. 14 – Oslo, NO @ Ultima Festival
Thu. Sep. 29 – Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA
Fri. Sep. 30 – New York, NY @ Le Poisson Rouge w/ serpentwithfeet
Tue. Oct. 4 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott w/ Olga Bell
Wed. Oct. 5 – Montreal, QC @ Casa del Popolo w/ Olga Bell
Fri. Oct. 7 – Toronto, ON @ The Drake w/ Olga Bell
Sat. Oct. 8 – Oberlin, OH @ Oberlin College w/ Olga Bell
Sun. Oct. 9 – Washington, DC @ DC9 w/ Olga Bell
Mon. Oct. 17 – Glasgow, UK @ Stereo
Tue. Oct. 18 – Manchester, UK @ Soup Kitchen
Wed. Oct. 19 – London, UK @ Oslo w/ Kelly Lee Owens
Fri. Oct. 21 – Brussels, BE @ AB
Sat. Oct. 22 – Paris, FR @ Point Ephemere
Mon. Oct. 24 – Luzern, CH @ Suedpol
Wed. Oct. 26 – Berlin, DE @ Kantine am Berghain
Thu. Oct. 27 – Amsterdam, NL @ De School
Fri. Oct. 28 – Hamburg, DE @ Kampnagel
Sat. Oct. 29 – Copenhagen, DK @ Jazzhouse
Thurs. Nov. 3 Stavanger, NO @ Tungenes Fyr Lighthouse
Fri. Nov. 4 – Bergen, NO @ Ekko Festival
Sat. Nov. 5 – Trondheim, NO @ Kunstmuseum
Fri. Nov. 11 – Los Angeles, CA @ Resident
Sat. Nov. 12 – Oakland, CA @ Starline Social Club
Mon. Nov. 14 – Portland, OR @ Holocene
Tue. Nov. 15 – Seattle, WA @ Kremwerk
Wed. Nov. 16 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret
Thurs. Dec. 15 – Stockholm, SE @ Debaser Strand
Sat. Dec. 17 – Göteburg, SE @ Folk