Yo La Tengo Re-issue ‘Extra Painful’

Yo La Tengo re-issue 'Extra Painful' with twelve extra bonus tracks, announce new dates

Hanukkah comes early: On December 2, Yo La Tengo will release “Extra Painful,” a deluxe 2XLP/2XCD reissue of their classic 1993 “Painful” LP with 12 bonus tracks (plus many more via download coupon), in celebration of their 30th year as a band.

Additionally, the band are playing a series of shows in the coming months, including their collaboration with filmmaker Sam Green, a sort of “live documentary” where Green narrates a film about futurist R. Buckminster Fuller’s life to the musical accompaniment of Yo La Tengo.

Yo La Tengo is one of the most beloved and respected bands in America. Their uninterrupted 30-year career is unparalleled in its creative breadth and refusal to rest on laurels. Ira Kaplan, Georgia Hubley and James McNew have enjoyed success entirely on their own terms – playing the world’s best concert halls, museums, and dives, dominating critics’ lists, doing a Simpsons theme, playing the Velvet Underground in “I Shot Andy Warhol,” sharing stages with some of the most important musicians of our time, and even creating a holiday tradition onto themselves with their yearly series of Hanukkah shows at Hoboken, New Jersey’s legendary club Maxwell’s, from which they’ve donated hundreds of thousands to charity. anniversary shows, an appearance at Austin’s Fun Fun Fun Fest.

Track listings:


1. Big Day Coming

2. From a Motel 6

3. Double Dare

4. Superstar-Watcher

5. Nowhere Near

6. Sudden Organ

7. A Worrying Thing

8. I Was The Fool Beside You For Too Long

9. The Whole Of The Law

10. Big Day Coming

11. I Heard You Looking

Extra Painful:

1. Nowhere Near (demo)

2. From A Motel 6 (live acoustic)

3. Tunnel Vision (unreleased instrumental demo)

4. Sudden Organ (demo)

5. Smart Window (unreleased Painful session)

6. Big Day Coming (live acoustic)

7. Slow Learner (unreleased demo)

8. Double Dare (demo)

9. A Worrying Thing (demo)

10. I Heard You Looking (live)

Shaker 7″:

A: Shaker

B: For Shame Of Doing Wrong [8-Track Version – the CD single contained a different

version which is on the download coupon]


Yo La Tengo re-issue 'Extra Painful' with twelve extra bonus tracks










Sam Green & Yo La Tengo “The Love Song of R. Buckminster Fuller”:


10/29 State Theatre, Portland ME


10/30 Flynn Center, Burlington VT


11/07 Contemporary Arts Center, New Orleans LA


11/12 PuSh Festival, Vancouver BC


11/09 Fun Fun Fun Fest, Austin TX


30th Anniversary Shows


12/03 Town Hall, NY NY w/ Antietam


12/04 Town Hall, NY NY w/ The Feelies


12/05 9:30 Club, Washington DC w/ Lambchop


12/06 Trocadero, Philadelphia PA w/ Antietam

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *