Dignan Porch Share Video for ‘Forever Unobscured’

Dignan Porch Share Video for 'Forever Unobscured.' Their album Observatory is out now on Faux Discx Records
Dignan Porch Share New Video for 'Forever Unobscured'

Ahead of their Observatory album launch party at Victoria Dalston on Friday 27th, DIY-pop purveyors Dignan Porch have unveiled the video for ‘Forever Unobscured’, made by drummer Philippa Bloomfield, with help from Mike Prior. It’s a tale of murder in the countryside, featuring deranged monsters and UFO’s, all captured on VHS. Watch it below…

Starting life as a one-man bedroom project for band leader Joseph Walsh, Dignan Porch has now blossomed in to a ramshackle group of perpetually laid-back sounding humans creating music that straddles the lines between psychedelia, folk, indie pop and grunge. Attracting a large cult following with every release, the band have been on headline tours of the UK, Europe, and US, which saw them driving over 9000 miles around the country with no tour manager or budget, and sleeping on floors every night.

When The Porch kick out the jams they give the impression that they’re careering along with only a couple of wheels still on the road, just about in control, but always on the verge of tipping over. There is a sadness that lurks beneath many of these rough-around-the-edges pop songs, a blurry-eyed realisation of the boredom of everyday life that seems to creep in to the very fabric of Dignan Porch’s sound. The ash tray is full, the can is empty.

The majority of Observatory was written and recorded at home during 2013 when Joe was living in a flat above a used-carpet shop in South London. It was cold and noisy but the rent was low, there were no neighbours to disturb and his room was huge. The perfect setting. The best of times / the worst of times. The band spent evenings and weekends getting their parts down and piecing the songs together. This DIY approach to recording works perfectly for Dignan Porch though, mid-fi fits them well.
Dignan Porch are Joseph Walsh (Guitar & vocals) Sam Walsh (Lead guitar), Ben Goodwin (Bass) and Hayley Akins (Keyboard and vocals). The band use a revolving roster of drummers, currently drumming in the live band is Philippa Bloomfield, before her Luke Walsh (also of Old Forest) who plays on Observatory, James Smith (also of Prize Pets) and Stephen Keane (also of Slushy Guts). Henry Withers of Human Hair/Lovvers also plays lead guitar on ‘Wait & Wait & Wait’.
Live Dates:

27 June / Dignan Porch Album Launch Party, Victoria, London
5 July / Rock-o-Rama Festival, Toulon, France
26 July / Shacklewell Arms, London
2 August / Brixton Windmill, London
18 October / A Carefully Planned Festival, Manchester
– October UK Tour –


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *