“Bills” by Ultimate Painting

Ultimate Painting, the duo of Jack Cooper and James Hoare, have announced the release of their new album, Dusk, on September 30th via Trouble In Mind. Recorded to tape by James in his East London flat and home studio, Dusk is the third album from the London-based duo, a ten song set that expands the group’s sound from their self-titled debut and their sophomore effort, Green Lanes. Today, the band shares the first single, “Bills.”

Ultimate Painting are lucky enough to be comprised of two singular voices in Jack Cooper and James Hoare, who met when on tour together with their other bands Mazes and Veronica Falls. The pair’s distinctive songwriting styles began to blur with Green Lanes, but on Dusk it’s hard to tell where Cooper ends and Hoare begins. Their tunes weave in and out of each other like the duo’s respective six-strings, spiraling around each other in a laconic dance.

The casual setting during the album’s recording allowed the sessions and songs to unfold naturally, with James and Jack accompanied by recent live drummer Melissa Rigby, who drums on the entirety of Dusk. Her skills lend a rhythmic elasticity to the songs with jazzy undertones that break from the band’s previously unadorned 4/4 leanings. Dusk feels different and cements the group’s presence in the modern world of guitar pop, finding voice in the allure of quietude.

1. Bills
2. Song for Brian Jones
3. A Portrait Of Jason
4. Lead The Way
5. Monday Morning, Somewhere Central
6. Who Is Your Next Target?
7. Skippool Creek
8. I’m Set Free
9. Silhouetted Shimmering
10. I Can’t Run Anymore

Sat. July 23 – Seattle, WA @ Capitol Hill Block Party
Mon. July 25 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel
Tue. July 26 – Big Sur, CA @ Woodsist Festival
Wed. July 27 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Resident
Thu. July 28 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar *
Fri. July 29 – Albuquerque, NM @ Sister Bar *
Sat. July 30 – Denver, CO @ Underground Music Showcase
Sun. July 31 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Diabolical Records *
Mon. Aug. 1 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux *
Tue. Aug. 2 – Spokane, WA @ The Bartlett *
Wed. Aug. 3 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret *
Fri. Aug. 5-Sun. Aug. 7 – Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon Festival
Fri. Aug. 26 – Totnes, UK @ Sea Change Festival
Sat. Aug. 27 – Amsterdam, NL @ Amsterdam Woods Festival
Sun. Aug. 28 – Venio, NL @ Zomerfest
Fri. Sept. 23-Sat. Sept. 24 – Liverpool, UK @ Liverpool Festival Of Psychedelia
Fri. Sept. 30 – Manchester, UK @ The Deaf Institute
Sat. Oct. 1 – Manchester, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Sun. Oct. 2 – Glasgow, UK @ Stereo
Tue. Oct. 4 – Birmingham, UK @ Hare V2
Wed. Oct. 5 – Bristol, UK @ Exchange
Thu. Oct. 6 – London, UK @ Islington Assembly Halls
Mon. Oct. 10 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Tue. Oct. 11 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique
Wed. Oct. 12 – Paris, FR @ Le Pop Up du Label
Thu. Oct. 13 – Cologne, DE @ King Georg
Fri. Oct. 14 – Hamburg, DE @ Aalhaus
Sat. Oct. 15 – Berlin, DE @ Berghain Kantine

* with Omni