Wild Beasts unveil single “Celestial Creatures”

Wild Beasts release single "Celestial Creatures".

Following the release of the first two singles, Wild Beasts have given us more insight into their forthcoming album Boy King, out August 5th on Domino, with “Celestial Creatures”. Where “Get My Bang” and “Big Cat” showcased a new direction, “Celestial Creatures” channels classic Wild Beasts and features Hayden Thorpe’s voice front and center.

Where 2014’s Present Tense album found Wild Beasts in reflective mood, absorbing a fascination with online culture and electronic music, Boy King has them, as Tom Fleming puts it, “back to being pissed off”. The quartet’s ever-present knack for sensual melody via Hayden Thorpe and Fleming’s dueting vocals, Ben Little’s sinuous guitar groove and Chris Talbot’s potent rhythm section carries in Boy King an aggressive, snarling and priapic beast that delves into the darker side of masculinity and Thorpe’s own psyche. As Hayden himself says, “After five records there had to be an element of ‘what the fuck?'”.

Boy King track list
01. Big Cat
02. Tough Guy
03. Alpha Female
04. Get My Bang
05. Celestial Creatures
06. 2BU
07. He The Colossus
08. Ponytail
09. Eat Your Heart Out Adonis
10. Dreamliner

Tue 26 Jul 2016 UK, Leeds Brudenell Social Club
Weds 27 July 2016 UK, Leeds Brudenell Social Club
Thu 28 Jul 2016 UK, Brighton Hove Old Market
Fri 29 Jul 2016 UK, Brighton Hove Old Market
Fri 05 Aug 2016 UK, London Rough Trade East [IN STORE PERFORMANCE]
Wed 10 Aug 2016 USA, New York City Baby’s All Right [SOLD OUT]
Thu 18 Aug 2016 UK, Green Man Festival
Thu 25 Aug 2016 UK, London Banquet Records [IN STORE PERFORMANCE]
Fri 26 Aug 2016 UK, UK Electric Fields
Sat 27 Aug 2016 Finland, Helsinki Modern Sky Festival
Fri 02 Sep 2016 Netherlands, Into The Great Wide Open
Sun 04 Sep 2016 Ireland Electric Picnic
Sat 24 Sep 2016 Germany, Reeperbahn Festival
Wed 28 Sep 2016 UK, Bristol Motion
Thu 29 Sep 2016 UK, Oxford O2 Academy Oxford
Fri 30 Sep 2016 UK, Margate By The Sea Festival
Sat 01 Oct 2016 UK, Sheffield The Foundry
Mon 03 Oct 2016 UK, Cambridge The Junction
Tue 04 Oct 2016 UK, London The Roundhouse
Fri 07 Oct 2016 UK, Newcastle Northumbria Uni
Sat 08 Oct 2016 UK, Glasgow QMU
Sun 09 Oct 2016 UK, Manchester Academy
Wed 12 Oct 2016 Belgium, Brussels Botanique Orangerie
Thu 13 Oct 2016 France, Paris La Gaîté Lyrique
Fri 14 Oct 2016 France, Tourcoing Le Grand Mix
Sat 15 Oct 2016 France, Strasbourg La Laiterie
Sun 16 Oct 2016 Germany, Cologne Luxor
Tue 18 Oct 2016 Denmark, Copenhagen Pumpehuset
Thu 20 Oct 2016 Germany, Berlin Kesselhaus
Fri 21 Oct 2016 Czech Republic, Prague Lucerna Music Bar
Sun 23 Oct 2016 Switzerland, Zurich, Rote Fabrik
Tue 25 Oct 2016 Italy, Milan, Magnolia
Wed 26 Oct 2016 France, Lyon Epicerie Moderne
Sat 29 Oct 2016 Spain, Bilbao BIME