Watch Parquet Courts perform on Colbert

Watch Parquet Courts perform on "Captive Of The Sun Colbert

Last night, Parquet Courts performed the song “Captive of the Sun” on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert. Naturally, the guys had a surprise in store. Austin Brown, who both wrote and sings “Captive,” reached back to his Beaumont, TX roots and enlisted legendary Houston rapper Bun B of UGK to join the band on the standout track off their critically acclaimed album Human Performance (Rough Trade Records). Also joined by friends from the bands Eaters, PC Worship, and Blues Control, the band performed in front of massive video screen depicting the J train rolling by, the rhythmic inspiration behind the song. The performance elicited a standing ovation from the surprised Late Show audience.

Also, as previously mentioned, the band recently announced the August 19th release of the “Performing Human” 12″, which will feature an alternate take of “Human Performance” as well as remixes of the song by Eaters and Chris Pickering from Future Punx. They shared a puppet-filled video for the album version of the song, directed by English visual artist Phil Collins.

Sat. Aug. 13 – Brooklyn, NY @ Market Hotel

Mon. Aug. 15 – Austin, TX @ The Mohawk

Thu. Aug. 18 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory

Fri. Aug. 19 – San Diego, CA @ Irenic

Sat. Aug. 20 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Regent

Mon. Aug. 22 – San Francisco, CA @ The Regency Ballroom

Tue. Aug. 23 – Petaluma, CA @ Lagunitas Amphitheater

Fri. Aug. 26 – Seattle, WA @ The Showbox

Sat. Aug. 27 – Vancouver, BC @ Vogue Theater

Sun. Aug. 28 – Portland, OR @ MFNW – Project Pabst Festival

Mon. Oct 10 – Manchester, UK @ Academy 2

Tue. Oct 11 – London @ The Forum

Wed. Oct. 12 – Brighton, UK @ Old Market

Sat. Oct. 15 – Groningen, NL @ Vera

Mon. Oct. 17 – Cologne, DK @ Gebaude 9

Tue. Oct 18 – Berlin, DK @ SO 36

Wed. Oct 19 – Prague, CR @ MeetFactory

Thu. Oct 20 – Munich, DK @ Storm

Sun. Oct 23 – Milan, IT @ Bko

Tue. Oct 25 – Zurich, CH @ Rote Fabrik

Wed. Oct 26 – Strasbourg, FR @ La Laitiere 

Thu. Oct 27 – Paris, FR @ Pitchfork Festival Paris