Watch a live video from Tortoise

Tortoise Kick Off North American Tour in Minneapolis, share new Live Video For "Shake Hands With Danger"

Tortoise are set to embark on their first major North American tour in support of their new album, The Catastrophist, just out on Thrill Jockey Records. In anticipation of the tour kick-off, Tortoise are sharing a special live video of the band performing “Shake Hands With Danger,” a hypnotic, bass-and-beat album highlight, filmed at the band’s in-the-round album release shows at Thalia Hall in Chicago this past January. The video offers up a rare and special experience to watch Tortoise re-create the sonic textures represented throughout their albums in a live setting.

Comprised of multi-instrumentalists Dan Bitney, John Herndon, Doug McCombs, John McEntire and Jeff Parker, Tortoise will kick off the first leg of their extensive North American tour this Wednesday in Minneapolis at the Cedar Cultural Center, taking them all across Midwest, Northeast, and Southwest. They’ll head back out in late April to the West Coast and southern US, before heading back to Europe this summer. Tortoise kick off their tour on March 9th in Minneapolis, MN.

Tortoise Tour Dates:

Wed. March 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ The Cedar Cultural Center #
Fri. March 11 – Ann Arbor, MI @ The Blind Pig #
Sat. March 12 – Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace #
Sun. March 13 – Montreal, QC @ Fairmount #
Mon. March 14 – Northampton, MA @ Iron Horse #
Tue. March 15 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair #
Wed. March 16 – New York, NY @ (Le) Poisson Rouge #
Thu. March 17 – Brooklyn, NY @ Littlefield #
Fri. March 18 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts #
Sat. March 19 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat #
Sun. March 20 – Charlottesville, VA @ The Southern #
Mon. March 21 – Asheville, NC @ The Orange Peel #
Tue. March 22 – Louisville, KY @ Headliners Music Hall #
Wed. March 23 – Newport, KY @ Southgate House Revival #
Thu. March 24 – Indianapolis, IN @ Radio Radio #
Tue. April 26 – Boise, ID @ Radio Boise Tuesday
Wed. April 27 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile
Thu. April 28 – Vancouver, BC @ Imperial
Fri. April 29 – Portland, OR @ Revolution Hall
Sat. April 30 – Sonoma, CA @ Sonoma Winery / Redwood Barn
Sun. May 1 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall
Mon. May 2 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Tue. May 3 – Solana Beach @ Belly Up
Wed. May 4 – Phoenix AZ @ Desert Daze Phoenix at Crescent Ballroom
Fri. May 6 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk
Sun. May 8 – Dallas, TX @ Dada
Mon. May 9 – St. Louis, MO @ The Ready Room
Tue. May 10 – Chicago, IL @ Metro
Wed. May 11 – Lawrence, KS @ Granada Theater
Thu. May 12 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird
Fri. May 13 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Sat. May 14 – Albuquerque, NM @ Launchpad
Sun. May 15 – Arcosanti, AZ @ Form: Acrosanti
Fri. May 27 – Torino, IT @ Cap10100
Sat. May 28 – Brescia, IT @ Latteria Molloy Sun. May 29 – Munich, DE @ Feierwerk
Mon. May 30 – Frankfurt, DE @ Das Bett
Tue. May 31 – Paris, FR @ TBA Wed. June 1 – Koln, DE @ Kulturkirche
Thu. June 2 – Besancon, FR @ La Rodia
Sun. June 5 – Nimes, FR @ This Is Not A Love Song Festival
Mon. June 6 – Toulouse, FR – Metronum
Wed. June 8 – Metz, FR @ Les Trinitaires
Thu. June 9 Tourcoing, FR @ Le Grand Mix Fri. July 3 – Keflavik, IS @ Asbru (ATP Iceland)
Tue. July 5 – Berlin, DE @ Columbia Theater

# w/ Mind Over Mirrors