Viet Cong Unveils Video For “Bunker Buster”

Viet Cong release their new video for "Bunker Buster", the track come from their current album 'Viet Cong',

Viet Cong, This week, have unveiled their new video for “Bunker Buster” before hitting the road for another string of North American dates.

If Viet Cong’s “Bunker Buster” elicits the images of a nighttime urban hellscape littered with lost souls, it does so with its dissected, angular rhythms and existential lyrics. Taking these visual cues even further, director Yoonha Park gives the song a grainy, sci-fi treatment, taking influences from the likes of Wong Kar-Wai, Philip K. Dick, and Lars von Trier in his video for the song.

Park has previously worked on videos for bands such as Liars, Washed Out, M83, and Beach House. This collaboration pairs compelling visuals with powerful music. Images burst with texture and color while New York City is used as a backdrop for isolation and dystopia. Shot on 16mm film, “Bunker Buster” pays homage to many classics of the science fiction genre, using robotic arms, surgical tubes, and a mannequin overlaid with projections of human faces mouthing the song’s lyrics.

Also beginning this week, Viet Cong embarks on yet another run around North America over the course of September, this time sharing dates with Toronto’s Greys. Following these dates, they will spend 10 days on west coast, and in November the band make an appearance at Austin’s Fun Fun Fun Fest before heading back to Europe for a week of festival shows – including their curator slot at “Sonic City”. They’ll close out the year in December with a two-night run at Lee’s Palace in Toronto, joined by Greys, Mexican Slang, Weaves, and Mimico.

North American Tour Dates

Fri, Sep 11 : Hudson, NY : Basilica Soundscape
Sat, Sep 12 : Hamilton, ON : Supercrawl
Mon, Sep 14 : Quebec, QC : Le Cercle #
Tue, Sep 15 : Fredericton, NB : Capital Bar #
Wed, Sep 16 : Halifax, NS : Gus’ Pub #
Thu, Sep 17 : Portland, ME : SPACE Gallery #
Fri, Sep 18 : Montreal, QC : Theatre Fairmount #
Sun, Sep 20 : Kingston, ON : Mansion #
Wed, Sep 23 : Milwaukee, WI : Cactus Club #
Thu, Sep 24 : Minneapolis, MI : 7th Street Entry #
Sun, Sep 27 : Fargo ND : The Aquarium
October 10 :: Edmonton, AB, CANADA :: Up & Downtown Music Festival
Wed, Oct 14 : Vancouver, BC : Cobalt
Thur Oct 15 : Vancouver, BC : Cobalt
Fri, Oct 16 : Seattle, WA : Neumos %
Sun, Oct 18 : San Francisco, CA : Treasure Island Festival
Tue, Oct 20 : Portland, OR : Doug Fir Lounge %
Fri, Nov 6 – Sun, Nov 8 : Austin, TX : Fun Fun Fun Fest
Thu, Nov 19 : Groningen, NE : Vera
Fri, Nov 20 : Utrecht, NE : Le Guess Who
Sat, Nov 21 + Sun Nov 22 : Kortrijk, BE : Sonic City
Mon, Nov 23 : Caen FR : Le Cargo
Tue, Nov 24 : Rouen, FR : 106
Wed, Nov 25 : Ramsgate, UK : Ramsgate Music Hall
Fri, Nov 27 + Sat Nov 28 : Pontins, Wales : All Tomorrow’s Parties
Fri, Dec 4 :: Toronto, ON : Lee’s Palace #$
Sat, Dec 5 : Toronto, ON : Lee’s Palace ^

# with Greys
% with Grave Babies
$ with Mexican Slang
^ with Weaves, Mimico

Viet Cong Tracklisting

1. Newspaper Spoons
2. Pointless Experience
3. March of Progress
4. Bunker Buster
5. Continental Shelf
6. Silhouettes
7. Death