Tortoise Shares Live Video For “Ox Duke”

Tortoise Shares Live Video For "Ox Duke".

Following a first run of their North American tour with multiple shows sold-out, instrumental group Tortoise are kicking off the second leg of their first major North American tour in support of their new album, The Catastrophist, out earlier this year on Thrill Jockey Records. In anticipation of the tour kick-off, which starts tomorrow night in Boise at Neurolux, Tortoise are sharing a special live video of the band performing “Ox Duke,” a slow-building combination of sonic texture and melody that’s classic-Tortoise, laid atop a propulsive drum beat. As with the previously released live video for “Shake Hands With Danger,” taken from the same night of in-the-round performances at Chicago’s Thalia Hall, the video offers up rare and special insight of the band re-creating the sounds represented throughout their albums in a live setting.

Comprised of multi-instrumentalists Dan Bitney, John Herndon, Doug McCombs, John McEntire and Jeff Parker, Tortoise will head overseas for an expansive European tour this summer, before coming back to North America for a performance at Sled Island Music & Arts Festival. A full list of tour dates is below.

Tortoise Tour Dates (new dates in bold):

Tue. April 26 — Boise, ID @ Neurolux (Radio Boise Tuesday)
Wed. April 27 — Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile
Thu. April 28 — Vancouver, BC @ Imperial
Fri. April 29 — Portland, OR @ Revolution Hall
Sat. April 30 — Sonoma, CA @ The Old Redwood Barn @ Gundlach Bundschu Winery
Sun. May 1 — San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall
Mon. May 2 — Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Tue. May 3 — Solana Beach @ Belly Up
Wed. May 4 – Phoenix AZ @ Desert Daze Phoenix at Crescent Ballroom
Fri. May 6 — Austin, TX @ Mohawk
Sat. May 7 — Marfa, TX @ The Lumberyard
Sun. May 8 — Dallas, TX @ Dada
Mon. May 9 — St. Louis, MO @ The Ready Room
Tue. May 10 — Chicago, IL @ Metro
Wed. May 11 — Lawrence, KS @ Granada Theater
Thu. May 12 — Denver, CO @ Bluebird
Fri. May 13 — Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Sat. May 14 — Albuquerque, NM @ Launchpad
Sun. May 15 — Mayer, AZ @ FORM Arcosanti
Fri. May 27 — Torino, IT @ Cap 10100 Club
Sat. May 28 — Brescia, IT @ Latteria Molloy
Sun. May 29 — Munchen, DE @ Feierwerk
Mon. May 30 — Frankfurt, DE @ Das Bett
Tue. May 31 — Paris, FR @ Villette Sonique
Wed. June 1 — Koln, DE @ Kulturkirche
Thu. June 2 – -Besancon, FR @ La Rodia
Fri. June 3 — Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Sun. June 5 — Nimes, FR @ This Is Not A Love Song Festival
Mon. June 6 — Toulouse, FR @ Metronum
Tue. June 7 — Limoges, FR @ CCM John Lennon
Wed. June 8 — Metz, FR @ Les Trinitaires
Thu. June 9 — Tourcoing, FR @ Le Grand Mix
Fri. June 10 — Porto, PT @ NOS Primavera Sound
Fri. June 24 – Calgary, AB @ Sled Island Music & Arts Festival
Tue. June 28 — Leipzig, DE @ Werk 2
Wed. June 29 — Dresden, DE @ Beanpole
Sat. July 2 — Keflavik, Iceland @ Asbru
Mon. July 4 — Karlsruhe, DE @ Tollhaus
Tue. July 5 — Berlin, DE @ Columbia Theater
Thu. July 7 — London, UK @ Electric Ballroom
Sat. July 9 — Lublin, PL @ Different Sounds – Art’n’Music Festival
Tue. July 12 — Rotterdam, NL @ Annabel