The Range announces ‘SUPERIMPOSE’ screenings

The Range announces 'SUPERIMPOSE' screenings in Los Angeles, New York, and London.

SUPERIMPOSE explores the making of The Range’s new album Potential, which exclusively uses the voices of people who posted videos of themselves on YouTube.The Range’s new album Potential, which exclusively uses the voices of people who posted videos of themselves on YouTube. The documentary sheds light on the unique and varied human stories of the people featured on the album who were completely unknown to The Range (Brooklyn-based electronic producer James Hinton) when originally selected. The documentary travels to off-the-beaten-path neighborhoods of New York City, NY; Kingston, Jamaica and London, England to tell the stories of a wide range of unique people – from Kai, the shy Brooklyn teenager who loves singing Ariana Grande covers; to Damian “Naturaliss” Gordon, the charismatic Jamaican correctional officer by day, dancehall singer by night; to Ophqi, the determined Brixton rapper and dutiful father with a difficult past who is still waiting for his moment to succeed as a musician; and more. Directed by the gifted young filmmaker Daniel Kaufman whose resume includes short films and music videos for DJ Khaled, Waka Flocka Flame, OT Genasis, The Decemberists, and more.

An early version of the documentary screened this March at YouTube’s SXSW showcase in Austin, and this past weekend’s Pitchfork Music Festival in Chicago. Further screenings of the full version of the film have been announced in New York City, Los Angeles, and London. See a list of screenings and events below.

SUPERIMPOSE is soundtracked by music from The Range’s critically acclaimed 2016 album Potential as well as unreleased new material made specifically for the documentary. A seven song EP – Superimpose (Music From the Documentary) EP – featuring new material from the documentary and a reworked version of Potential album standout ‘Superimpose’ is being released digitally to coincide with the documentary release.

SUPERIMPOSE and the accompanying Superimpose (Music From the Documentary) EP will be released digitally on August 4, 2016. The documentary will be available on Youtube, Apple Music and other select providers. The EP will be available to purchase and stream on most digital service providers.

Superimpose (Music From The Documentary) EP tracklisting

1. Superimpose (Damian Taylor Edit)
2. The Magic
3. Naught
4. Flag
5. True Value
6. No Loss (Superimpose Version)
7. Skeptical (Damian Taylor remix)

SUPERIMPOSE screenings + events
Mon Aug 1 || Los Angeles, CA || Anonymous Content (Screening & Q&A)
Wed Aug 3 || New York, NY || YouTube Space NY (Screening + Q&A + DJ set)
Thurs Aug 4 || Brooklyn, NY || THUMP Sunsets Live-stream (DJ set, with thanks to Serato)
Thurs Aug 4 || New York, NY || Ludlow House (Screening + Q&A + Live Set)|| Private Event
Tues Aug 9 || London, UK || Rough Trade East (Screening + DJ set) || Open To Public

The Range live dates
Wed July 27 || Elvis Guesthouse || New York, NY
Sat July 30 || Osheaga Festival || Montreal, QC
Fri Aug 12 || Way Out West Festival || Gothenburg, Sweden
Sat Aug 20 || Lowlands Festival || Biddinghuizen, Netherlands
Sat Aug 27 || Reading Festival || Reading, UK
Sun Aug 28 || Leeds Festival || Wetherby, UK
Thurs Sept 22 – Mon Sept 26 || Symbiosis Gathering || Oakdale, CA
Fri Oct 21 || House Of Blues || Boston, MA *
Sat Oct 22 || Hammerstein Ballroom || New York, NY *
Mon Oct 24 || The Fillmore || Philadelphia, PA *
Tues Oct 25 || 9:30 Club || Washington, DC *
Wed Oct 26 || 9:30 Club || Washington, DC *
Fri Oct 28 || The Ritz || Raleigh, NC *
Sat Oct 29 || The Fillmore || Charlotte, NC *
Sun Oct 30 || The Mill & Mine || Knoxville, TN *
Mon Oct 31 || Marathon Music Works || Nashville, TN *
Wed Nov 2 || Buckhead Theater || Atlanta, GA *
Thurs Nov 3 || Joy Theater || New Orleans, LA *
Sat Nov 5 || Bomb Factory || Dallas, TX *
Fri Nov 4 – Sun Nov 6 || Sound On Sound Festival || Bastrop, TX

* = with Phantogram