SUUNS announce new album ‘HOLD/STILL’

SUUNS announce new album 'HOLD/STILL', share lead single "Translate"

following their two previous albums, 2011’s Zeroes QC & 2013’s Images du Futur, comes Hold/Still, the third studio album from Suuns. In May, SUUNS, headed to Dallas, to work with producer John Congleton. “It felt like we were on a mission – looking for something to take us out of our element, or that might seep into our music”, say the band. Hold/Still will be released April 15th via Secretly Canadian (in the U.S.) and Secret City (in Canada).

The lead-track, “Translate,” “It is a song that the band have been reworking for years, and was one of the last songs to be finished for the album, and yet, perhaps, defines the record perfectly. The synthesizers are the work of Max Henry, an obsessive who builds his own patches and confesses to using cranky or budget equipment – “[good gear] does all the work for you, and that’s not always fun”.

Accompanying the song is the first of a trilogy of videos for the album (the second and third installments will be launched ahead of the record release). Shot by Charles-André Coderre, a long-term collaborator of the band, he says, “’Translate,’ the first music video of a triptych series, is an incandescent vision. It was shot with thermal imagery. The concept was simple: film the band in their rehearsal space and transfigure the footage into something unusual and gorgeous. We experimented the different meanings of the word “translate” and explored a new film language by shooting what the human eye can’t see.”

Also released today is the Dark Sky “Psych” remix of “Translate” – the first of a number of remixes that will be launched alongside tracks from the album. This one takes the original’s repetitive, krautrock-like rhythms and squeezes them into a tighter, mesmeric arrangement. Says Dark Sky, “We really liked the psyched out sounds and sonics from the original track which sounded vintage but also forward thinking. We were inspired to build on this vibe.”

Accompanying the song is the first of a trilogy of videos for the album (the second and third installments will be launched ahead of the record release). Shot by Charles-André Coderre, a long-term collaborator of the band, he says, “’Translate,’ the first music video of a triptych series, is an incandescent vision. It was shot with thermal imagery. The concept was simple: film the band in their rehearsal space and transfigure the footage into something unusual and gorgeous. We experimented the different meanings of the word “translate” and explored a new film language by shooting what the human eye can’t see.”

HOLD/STILL TRACKLIST:
1. Fall
2. Instrument
3. UN-NO
4. Resistance
5. Mortise and Tenon
6. Translate
7. Brainwash
8. Careful
9. Paralyzer
10. Nobody Can Save Me Now
11. Infinity

SUUNS TOUR DATES:

Sat. Mar. 19 – Azores Island, PT @ Tremor Festival
Thu. Apr. 7 – Sainte-Therese, QC @ Bar le Cha-Cha
Sat. Apr. 9 – Saint-Casimir, QC @ La Taverne
Fri. Apr. 15 – Quebec City, QC @ L’Anti
Sat. Apr. 16 – Carleton-sur-Mer, QC @ La Naufraqeur
Wed. Apr. 20 – Montreal, QC @ La Tulipe
Thu. Apr. 21 – Ottawa, ON @ St. Alban’s Church
Fri. Apr. 22 – Toronto, ON @ Adelaide Hall
Thu. May 19 – Berlin, DE @ Berghain
Fri. May 20 – Amsterdam, NL @ Melkweg
Sat. May 21 – Lille, FR @ Grand Mix
Sun. May 22 – Brussels, BE @ La Nuit De Botanqiue Festival
Tue. May 24 – London, UK @ ICA
Fri. May 27 – Neustreliz, DE @ Immergut Festival
Sat. May 28 – KleinReifling, AT @ Seewiesen Festival
Mon. May 30 – Paris, FR @ TBD
Wed. June 1 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Sun. June 5 – Mannheim, DE @ Maifield Derby Festival
Wed. June 8 – Rome, IT @ Monk
Thu. June 9 – Ravenna, IT @ Beaches Brew Festival