Shopping Share Video For “Straight Lines”

Shopping Share Video For "Straight Lines", the track comes of the band's' LP 'Why Choose'

Last week, U.K. post-punkers Shopping released their sophomore album, Why Wait, via FatCat Records. Now, they’re sharing a brand new video for their single “Straight Lines”. Shopping kick off their first North American tour on October 12th at Elvis Guesthouse in New York City.

The video sustains a feeling of nonchalant bluntness that can be found in the songs hastened, yet monotonous vocals. “The video is a metaphor for being caught up in a constricting relationship that you know is ultimately shallow and poisonous,” says Director Margarita Louca. “We played on Andrew’s lyrics — the idea of giving so much of yourself away (your life, love, money) to someone who treats you with contempt and dispassion — much like the inanimate objects littering the background of their life.”

SHOPPING TOUR DATES:

Wed. Oct. 7 – London, UK @ Dalston Victoria
Mon. Oct. 12 – New York, NY @ Elvis Guesthouse (Oh My Rockness CMJ Kick off)
Wed. Oct. 14 – New York, NY @ Pianos (Culture Collide + Kanine Records)
Wed. Oct. 14 – Brooklyn, NY @ Santos Party House (NME + Popgun + House Arrest)
Thu. Oct. 15 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade In-Store
Thu. Oct. 15 – New York, NY @ Cake Shop
Fri. Oct. 16 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg *
Sun. Oct. 18 – Providence, RI @ Columbus Theatre *
Mon. Oct. 19 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott *
Tue. Oct. 20 – Winooski, VT @ Monkey House *
Wed. Oct. 21 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz PDB *
Thu. Oct. 22 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern *
Fri. Oct. 23 – Detroit, MI @ UFO Factory *
Sat. Oct. 24 – Chicago, IL @ Subterranean *
Sun. Oct. 25 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle *
Tue. Oct. 27 – Madison, WI @ The Frequency *
Wed. Oct. 28 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry *
Fri. Oct. 30 – Missoula, MT @ Ole Beck VFW Post 209 *
Sat. Oct. 31 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos *
Sun. Nov. 1 – Portland, OR @ Star Theater *
Tue. Nov. 3 – San Francisco, CA @ The Knockout
Wed. Nov. 4 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Thu. Nov. 5 – San Diego, CA @ The Hideout
Fri. Nov. 6 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Constellation Room
Sat. Nov. 7 – Phoenix, AZ @ 51 West
Sun. Nov. 8 – El Paso, TX @ Low Brow Palace
Tue. Nov. 10 – Dallas, TX @ Double Wide
Wed. Nov. 11 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk
Thu. Nov. 12 – Houston, TX @ Fitzgerald’s
Fri. Nov. 13 – New Orleans, LA @ The Hi Ho Lounge
Sat. Nov. 14 – Atlanta, GA @ Drunken Unicorn
Sun. Nov. 15 – Durham, NC @ Pinhook #
Tue. Nov. 17 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat #
Wed. Nov. 18 – Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church #
Thu. Nov. 19 – Poughkeepsie, NY @ Vassar College #
Fri. Nov. 20 – Alfred, NY @ Alfred University #
Sat. Nov. 21 – Brooklyn, NY @ Palisades #

* w/ Shannon and the Clams
# w/ Priests