Protomartyr release “Dope Cloud” from new LP

Protomartyr Share New Song, "Dope Cloud"; New album 'The Agent Intellect' Out October 9th On Hardly Art.

Protomartyr’s new record, The Agent Intellect, is coming out on October 9th via Hardly Art. Today, they’re sharing “Dope Cloud,” a new song from the full-length, and as close as the band has ever come to a “radio single.” The almost-anthem deals in a currency of lost ownership and the futility of creature comforts, as Joe Casey’s lyrics paint mental images of a “saltmine racist gang” and a “pizza king” swollen with riches. It’s one of the best songs the band has released to date, showcasing their strength as both songwriters and lyricists.

“DOPE CLOUD” LYRICS

Agent intellect knocks and says,
“Again, again, again”

The saltmine racist gang
The spoils of the pizza king

That’s not gonna save you man

The oligarch lender’s guile
The largesse of the Lombard bank

That’s not gonna save you man

The halls of gold are theirs
You’re only renting space

That’s not gonna save you man

But what will?
What what will?

The dope cloud that’s descending on this town
Is blowing gold dust into the pockets of the undeserving
And I’m wrung out
I’m wrung out

This ancient microphone
and the lungs behind that creak

That’s not gonna save you man

You dedicated your life to prayer
You suffered in silence there

That’s not gonna save you man

Your passive mind that thinks
perhaps my ship’s come in

That’s not gonna save you man

Agent intellect knocks and says,
“Again, again, again”

PROTOMARTYR TOUR DATES:
Fri. Oct. 9 – Detroit, MI @ Marble Bar w/Deaf Wish, Casual Sweetheart
Sat. Oct. 10 – Detroit, MI @ Marble Bar w/Spray Paint, Growwing Pains
Sun. Oct. 11 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern w/Dirty Nil, Growwing Pains
Mon. Oct. 12 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz PDT w/Growwing Pains
Tue. Oct. 13 – Cambridge, MA @ Middle East Upstairs w/Growwing Pains
Sat. Oct. 17 – Baltimore, MD @ Metro Gallery
Sun. Oct. 18 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s w/Amanda X
Tue. Oct. 20 – Raleigh, NC @ King’s Barcade w/Amanda X
Wed. Oct. 21 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl w/Amanda X
Thu. Oct. 22 – Nashville, TN @ Stone Fox
Fri. Oct. 23 – Bloomington, IN @ Blockhouse w/Amanda X
Sat. Oct. 24 – Milwaukee, WI @ Cactus Club w/Amanda X
Sun. Oct. 25 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall w/Amanda X, Negative Scanner
Wed. Oct. 28 – Nantes, FR @ Soy Festival – Stereolux
Thu. Oct. 29 – Lille, FR @ La Peniche
Fri. Oct. 30 – Brighton, UK @ Green Door Store
Sat. Oct. 31 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Sun. Nov. 1 – London, UK @ Scala
Mon. Nov. 2 – London, UK @ Dalston Victoria
Tue. Nov. 3 – Bristol, UK @ The Fleece
Wed. Nov. 4 – Manchester, UK @ Sound Control
Thu. Nov. 5 – Glasgow, UK @ Stereo
Fri. Nov. 6 – Birmingham @ The Rainbow Cellar
Sat. Nov. 7 – Cardiff, UK @ SWN Fest
Mon. Nov. 9 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique (Rotonde)
Tue. Nov. 10 – Wiesbaden, DE @ Schlachthof
Wed. Nov. 11 – Hamburg, DE @ Hafenklang
Thu. Nov. 12 – Copenhagen, DK @ Loppen
Fri. Nov. 13 – Aarhus, DK @ Radar
Sat. Nov. 14 – Berlin, DE @ Berghain Katine
Mon. Nov. 16 – Cologne, DE @ MTC
Tue. Nov. 17 – Strasbourg, FR @ Le Mudd Club
Wed. Nov. 18 – Paris, FR @ Point Ephemere
Thu. Nov. 19 – Rotterdam, NL @ Rotown
Fri. Nov. 20 – Utrecht, NL @ Le Guess Who? Festival
Sat. Nov. 21 – Kortrijk, BE @ Sonic City – De Kreun