Mild High Club unveil “Skiptracing” video

Mild High Club unveil “Skiptracing” video, the title-track from their forthcoming release, out August 26th.

Mild High Club have unveiled an official video for their new single, “Skiptracing.” The band’s Alexander Brettin shot the majority of the short film himself on Super 8 with assistance from Bradford Walters. Brettin saw some of Walter’s surfing footage when Mild High Club toured with the Allah-Lahs and was inspired to shoot Walters himself on the beach, imitating French New Wave. Brettin explains the video in his own words, “It’s a guy with a detector who finds an old friend and has a dance. You could say he’s skiptracing the presence of the character played by the indelible Bleu Archbold.”

On the album, Skiptracing, there’s both a heightened thematic aspect as well as more complex musical arrangements encasing it. In Brettin’s estimation, the album’s story arc is that of a “private investigator attempting to trace the steps of the sound and the spirit of American music.”

And in investigating the spirit of American music, Mild High Club re-imagine AM radio hits as blasting in from a parallel universe, the sound of early 70s LA in a smog of sativa. Brettin and band look to the wry, trenchant wit of Steely Dan, gazing deep into the dark underbelly of sun-bright LA and coming away with a catchy song underpinned by slippery jazz phrasings.

Mild High Club’s Skiptracing release date is on August 26th via Stones Throw Records. They’ll continue to tour extensively in support of Skiptracing and hit Pygmalion Festival, Desert Daze and more along the way. A full list of dates is below with more to be announced soon.

MILD HIGH CLUB TOUR DATES (new dates in bold):
Sat. Aug. 20 – Darlington, MD @ Fields Fest
Fri. Aug. 26 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel
Sat. Aug. 27 – Nevada City, CA @ Cooper’s Aleworks
Tue. Aug. 30 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Wed. Aug. 31 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar
Thu. Sept. 1 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Fri. Sept. 2 – Albuquerque, NM @ Town Hall
Sat. Sept. 3 – El Paso, TX @ Lowbrow Palace
Mon. Sept. 5 – San Antonio, TX @ K23 Gallery
Tue. Sept. 6 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk
Wed. Sept. 7 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada
Thu. Sept. 8 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa
Fri. Sept. 9 – Atlanta, GA @ 529
Sat. Sept. 10 – Nashville, TN @ Little Harpeth Brewing Co
Tue. Sept. 13 – Baltimore, MD @ The Crown
Wed. Sept. 14 – Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right
Fri. Sept. 16 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Sat. Sept. 17 – Madison, WI @ The Frequency
Tue. Sept. 20 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St Entry
Wed. Sept. 21 – Omaha, NE @ Reverb Lounge
Thu. Sept. 22 – Sioux Falls, SD @ Total Drag
Fri. Sept. 23 – Iowa City, IA @ Iowa City Yacht Club
Sat. Sept. 24 – Urbana, IL @ Pygmalion Festival
Mon. Sept. 26 – Columbus, OH @ Double Happiness
Tue. Sept. 27 – Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA
Wed. Sept. 28 – Boston, MA @ Middle East
Fri. Sept. 30 – Montreal, QC @ Casa Del Popolo
Sat. Oct. 1 – Toronto, ON @ Baby G
Wed. Oct. 5 – Boise, ID @ Olympic
Thu. Oct. 6 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Fri. Oct. 7 – Seattle, WA @ Office Space
Sat. Oct. 8 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret
Fri. Oct. 14 – Joshua Tree, CA @ Desert Daze
Tue. Oct. 18 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Wed. Oct. 19 – Brussels, BE @ Madame Moustache
Thu. Oct. 20 – Paris, FR @ Espace B
Fri. Oct. 21 – Limoges, FR @ La Phare
Sat. Oct. 22 – Toulouse, FR @ Le Saints des Seins
Tue. Oct. 25 – Dudingen, CH @ Bad Bonn
Wed. Oct. 26 – Zurich, CH @ Hafenkneipe
Thu. Oct. 27 – Munich, DE @ Strom
Fri. Oct. 28 – Berlin, DE @ Badehaus Szimpla
Sat. Oct. 29 – Nijmegen, NL @ Mereleyn
Mon. Oct. 31 – Brighton, UK @ The Hope
Tue. Nov. 1 – London, UK @ Moth Club