Julianna Barwick streams new track “Same”

Julianna Barwick streams new track "Same" ft: MAS YSA

Julianna Barwick has unveiled the next single from her forthcoming album, Will, called “Same” featuring vocals from Thomas Arsenault aka Mas Ysa. It’s the follow up to Will lead single “Nebula”. Barwick says of the new track, “Mas Ysa’s Seraph was by far my favorite record of last year. So, imagine my delight when Tom agreed to lend some vocals to a couple songs on my new record Will. I was wrapping up the record in beautiful Lisbon when he sent them along, and they made this track ‘Same’ complete. Now, we’ll be playing several shows together this year and I can’t wait!”

Conceived and self-produced over the past year in a variety of locations, the ominous, compelling Will is a departure from 2013’s Alex Somers-produced Nepenthe. If that last record conjured images of gentle, thick fog rolling over desolate mountains, then Will is a late afternoon thunderstorm, a cathartic collision of sharp and soft textures that sounds looming and restorative all at once.

Will, Featuring contributions from Thomas Arsenault (Mas Ysa), Dutch cellist Maarten Vos and percussionist, Jamie Ingalls (Chairlift, Tanlines, Beverly), Will is largely a product of ups and downs, a reflection of a life lived somewhere in between transience and standing still. The beguiling, beautifully complicated Will is the result of that curiosity, and proof of Barwick’s irresistibly engaging talent as a composer and vocalist.

Julianna Barwick Tour Dates (new dates in bold):

Thu. Apr. 14 – New York, NY @ Titus Theater 1 at MoMA
Thu. Apr. 28 – Cambridge, MA @ Middle East Upstairs *
Fri. Apr. 29 – Portland, ME @ The Space Gallery *
Sat. Apr. 30 – Portsmouth, NH @ 3S Artspace
Thu. May 5 – Highland Park, CA @ Highland Park Ebel Club **
Fri. May 6 – Los Angeles, CA @ Velaslavasay Panorama (SOLD OUT) **
Sat. May 7 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel **
Tue. May 10 – Seattle, WA @ Fremont Abbey Arts Center **
Wed. May 11 – Portland, OR @ The Old Church **
Sun. May 15 – Mayer, AZ @ Arcosanti
Sat. May 21 – Durham, NC @ Moogfest 2016 at First Presbyterian
Thu. Jun. 2 – Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Paradiso
Sat. Jun 4 – Berlin, Germany @ Torstrassen Festival
Mon. Jun. 6 – Paris, France @ Carmen
Tue. Jun. 7 – Brussels, Belgium @ La Nuit de Botanique Festival
Wed. Jun. 8 – London, UK @ Pickle Factory
Wed. Jun. 15 – Washington, DC @ Sixth & I **
Thu. June 16 – Columbus, OH @ Double Happiness **
Fri. June 17 – Cincinnati, OH @ Ice Cream Factory **
Sat. Jun. 18 – Chicago, IL @ Constellation **
Sun. Jun 19 – Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center **
Mon. June 20 – Madison, WI @ The Frequency **
Wed. June 22 – Indianapolis, IN @ Tube Factory **
Thu. Jun. 23 – Detroit, MI @ Museum of Contemporary Art **
Fri. Jun. 24 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Café **

* w/ Nat Baldwin
** w/ Mas Ysa