Big Thief sign to Saddle Creek and share video

Big Thief sign to Saddle Creek, and share new video for "Masterpiece"

Brooklyn’s Big Thief have announced their signing with Saddle Creek Records. Adrianne Lenker’s lyrical storytelling is equally grounded and autobiographical as it is surreal and cabalistic. Just ask Big Thief fan Sharon Van Etten. “Some of the most compelling songs I’ve heard in a long time,” says Van Etten. “Driving songs that take you on a real journey, with intelligent stories and twist-and-turn melodies. And fun as hell live.”

Today, the band, which includes Buck Meek on guitar, Max Oleartchik on bass, and James Krivchenia on drums, announces its signing to Saddle Creek. News of their debut album will be forthcoming, as will a slew of performances at this year’s SXSW. This week, they embark on a short stint of dates supporting Eleanor Friedberger, beginning this Thursday at Bowery Ballroom, followed by a massive national tour with Yuck. The band is also sharing the video for “Masterpiece,” a song that will be part of their debut album for Saddle Creek.

Thu. Feb. 18 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom w/ Eleanor Frieberger
Fri. Feb. 19 – Philadelphia, PA @ MilkBoy w/ Eleanor Friedberger
Sat. Feb. 20 – Woodstock, NY @ Bearsville Theater w/ Eleanor Friedberger
Thu. Mar 10 – Chapel Hill, NC @ The Kraken w/ The Love Language
Fri. Mar. 11 – Savannah, GA @ Savannah Stopover Festival
Sat. Mar. 12 – Atlanta, GA @ Aisle 5 w/ Yuck, Sunflower Bean
Sun. Mar. 13 – Baton Rouge, LA @ Spanish Moon w/ Yuck
Wed. Mar 16 – Sat. Mar 19 – Austin, TX @ SXSW
Mon. Mar. 21 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom w/ Yuck, Sunflower Bean
Tue. Mar. 22 – Las Vegas, NV @ The Bunkhouse Saloon w/ Yuck
Wed. Mar. 23 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar w/ Yuck
Thu. Mar. 24 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echoplex w/ Yuck
Fri. Mar. 25 – Visalia, CA @ The Cellar Door w/ Yuck
Sat. Mar. 26 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall w/ Yuck
Mon. Mar. 28 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios w/ Yuck
Tue. Mar. 29 – Vancouver, BC @ Fortune Sound Club w/ Yuck
Wed. Mar. 30 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile w/ Yuck
Thu. Mar. 31 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux w/ Yuck
Fri. Apr. 1 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Metro Bar w/ Yuck
Sat. Apr. 2 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge w/ Yuck
Sun. Apr. 3 – Omaha, NE @ Lookout Lounge w/ Yuck
Mon. Apr. 4 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry w/ Yuck
Tue. Apr. 5 – Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon w/ Yuck
Wed. Apr. 6 – Chicago, IL @ The Empty Bottle w/ Yuck
Thu. Apr. 7 – Ferndale, MI @ The Loving Touch w/ Yuck
Fri. Apr. 15 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel w/ Yuck