Big Thief announce new LP ‘Masterpiece’

Big Thief announce new LP 'Masterpiece'

Big Thief, recently announced details debut their new album Masterpiece.. The Brooklyn band’s full-length was produced by Andrew Sarlo, and due for a May 27th release date via Saddle Creek. Big Thief’s Adrianne Lenker, says about the music: “the process of harnessing pain, loss, and love, while simultaneously letting them go, looking into your own eyes through someone else’s, and being okay with the inevitability of death,” says Adrianne.

Lenker her longtime musical partner, guitarist and singer, Buck Meek, in Brooklyn a few years ago, and they quickly formed a creative bond tempered by the shared experience of traveling down long highways and performing for months on end in old dive bars, barns, and basements together. Now, a full band, with Max Oleartchik on bass and James Krivchenia on drums (drummer Jason Burger appears on Masterpiece) brings a heavy, steady wildness, giving the music an even deeper layer of nostalgia.

The shape-shifting title track cycles through big questions: “the constant process of letting go, and the masterpiece of existence.” Today, the band shares their second single “Real Love.” In Adrianne’s words, “Struggle is inherent in love. Without consciousness, human or animal, would love exist? We make love, and love makes us. Maybe that’s why it is so hard for us when we feel that we’ve lost it, as if we’ve disappeared.”

1. Little Arrow
2. Masterpiece
3. Vegas
4. Real Love
5. Interstate
6. Lorraine
7. Paul
8. Human
9. Velvet Ring
10. Animals
11. Randy
12. Parallels

Thu. Mar 10 – Chapel Hill, NC @ The Kraken w/ The Love Language
Fri. Mar. 11 – Savannah, GA @ Savannah Stopover Festival
Sat. Mar. 12 – Atlanta, GA @ Aisle 5 w/ Yuck, Sunflower Bean
Sun. Mar. 13 – Baton Rouge, LA @ Spanish Moon w/ Yuck
Tue. Mar. 15 – Austin, TX @ 3Ten Austin City Limits Live (Pre SXSW Party) – 9:20PM
Wed. Mar. 16 – Austin, TX @ Clive Bar (Showtime Roadies House) – 4PM
Wed. Mar. 16 – Austin, TX @ The Sidewinder Inside (Ground Control Showcase) – 12AM
Mon. Mar. 21 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom w/ Yuck, Sunflower Bean
Tue. Mar. 22 – Las Vegas, NV @ The Bunkhouse Saloon w/ Yuck
Wed. Mar. 23 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar w/ Yuck
Thu. Mar. 24 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echoplex w/ Yuck
Fri. Mar. 25 – Visalia, CA @ The Cellar Door w/ Yuck
Sat. Mar. 26 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall w/ Yuck
Mon. Mar. 28 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios w/ Yuck
Tue. Mar. 29 – Vancouver, BC @ Fortune Sound Club w/ Yuck
Wed. Mar. 30 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile w/ Yuck
Thu. Mar. 31 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux w/ Yuck
Fri. Apr. 1 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Metro Bar w/ Yuck
Sat. Apr. 2 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge w/ Yuck
Sun. Apr. 3 – Omaha, NE @ Lookout Lounge w/ Yuck
Mon. Apr. 4 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry w/ Yuck
Tue. Apr. 5 – Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon w/ Yuck
Wed. Apr. 6 – Chicago, IL @ The Empty Bottle w/ Yuck
Thu. Apr. 7 – Ferndale, MI @ The Loving Touch w/ Yuck
Tue. Apr. 12 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg w/ Yuck
Fri. Apr. 15 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel w/ Yuck