Angel Olsen announces new album ‘My Woman’

Angel Olsen announces new album 'My Woman.' The full-length comes out on September 2nd.

Angel Olsen has announced her new album MY WOMAN. Recently she shared a teaser for “Intern.” MY WOMAN, follows the release of 2014’s Burn Your Fire for No Witness. The album is due out is out September 2nd on Jagjaguwar. The Angel Olsen six-piece band will tour extensively in support of MY WOMAN throughout North America and Europe beginning in September.

Olsen wrote some songs on a piano, but later switched it out for synth and/or Mellotron (as on the aforementioned “Intern”). She worked with producer Justin Raisen (Charli XCX, Sky Ferreira, Santigold) and also opted to record live to tape at LA’s historic Vox Studios, bringing in guest guitarist Seth Kauffman to augment her regular band of bass player Emily Elhaj, drummer Joshua Jaeger and guitarist Stewart Bronaugh.

Given its title, and track names like “Sister” and “Woman,” it would be easy to read a gender-specific message into MY WOMAN, but Olsen has never played her lyrical content straight. She says the album isn’t necessarily a feminist manifesto, but it does sometimes deal with themes surrounding “the complicated mess of being a woman.” She continues, “I’m definitely using scenes that I’ve replayed in my head, in the same way that I might write a script and manipulate a memory to get it to fit. But I think it’s important that people can interpret things the way that they want to.”

Angel Olsen
MY WOMAN
Track List:
1. Intern
2. Never Be Mine
3. Shut Up Kiss Me
4. Give It Up
5. Not Gonna Kill You
6. Heart Shaped Face
7. Sister
8. Those Were The Days
9. Woman
10. Pops

Angel Olsen Tour Dates:
Thu. June 16 – Milwaukee, WI @ Pabst Theater #
Fri. June 17 – Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center #
Sat. June 18 – Fargo, ND @ The Aquarium #
Sun. June 19 – Winnipeg. MB @ Park Theatre #
Tue. June 21 – Saskatoon, SK @ Amigo’s #
Wed. June 22 – Calgary, AB @ Sled Island – Central United Church
Fri. June 24 – Anchorage, AK @ Tap Root ^
Sat. June 25 – Anchorage, AK @ Tap Root ^
Sat. July 2 – Reykjavik, IS @ ATP Iceland
Fri. Sep. 9 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West *
Sat. Sep. 10 – Nashville, TN @ Exit/In *
Sun. Sep. 11 – Cincinnati, OH @ Woodward Theater *
Mon. Sep. 12 – Millvale, PA @ Mr. Smalls Theatre *
Wed. Sep. 14 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer *
Thu. Sep. 15 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club *
Fri. Sep. 16 – Hudson, NY @ Basilica Soundscape
Sat. Sep. 17 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall *
Sun. Sep. 18 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw *
Tue. Sep. 20 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair *
Wed. Sep. 21 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair &
Thu. Sep. 22 – South Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground Ballroom &
Fri. Sep. 23 – Montreal, QC @ Pop Montreal &
Sat. Sep. 24 – Toronto, ON @ Virgin Mobile Mod Club &
Mon. Sep. 26 – Detroit, MI @ The Loving Touch &
Tue. Sep. 27 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall &
Fri. Sep. 30 – St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway &
Sat. Oct. 1 – Asheville, NC @ Grey Eagle &
Thu. Oct. 13 – Brighton, UK @ Concorde 2
Fri. Oct. 14 – Manchester, UK @ Club Academy
Sat. Oct. 15 – Glasgow, UK @ SWG3 Studio Warehouse
Sun. Oct. 16 – Bristol, UK @ The Marble Factory
Mon. Oct. 17 – London, UK @ KOKO
Wed. Oct. 19 – Hamburg, DE @ Kampnagel
Thu. Oct. 20 – Copenhagen, DK @ Koncerthuset, Studie 2
Fri. Oct. 21 – Oslo, NO @ John Dee
Sat. Oct. 22 – Stockholm, SE @ Debaser Strand
Sun. Oct. 23 – Goeteborg, SE @ Pustervik
Tue. Oct. 25 – Berlin, DE @ Columbia Theater
Wed. Oct. 26 – Munich, DE @ Ampere
Thu. Oct. 27 – Zuerich, CH @ Bogen F
Fri. Oct. 28 – Koeln, DE @ Stadtgarten
Sat. Oct. 29 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique
Fri. Nov. 4 – Paris, FR @ La Gaîté Lyrique
Sun. Nov. 6 – Amsterdam, NL @ Tolhuistuin

# = with Scott Tuma
^ = with Termination Dust
* = with Alex Cameron
& = with Rodrigo Amarante