Alex G Shares Single ‘Kicker’ from New Album

ALEX G Shares 'Kicker' from New Album

‘Kicker’, the third taste of Alex G’s forthcoming album Beach Music, is available to hear now. ‘Kicker’ comes hot on the heels of previously shared tracks ‘Salt’ and ‘Bug’. ‘Kicker’ premiered over the weekend on Sirius XMU as part of the Download 15, and is now available to stream or purchase digitally.

Alex has also added a second NYC album release show, as the first at Baby’s All Right on October 8 is now sold out. Tickets to the second show, at Silent Barn on October 9, are now on sale here.

For those looking to open their home to Alex and his band on their upcoming European tour, he and his 3 bandmates are looking for places to crash in Germany, France, The Netherlands, Belgium, Manchester, and London next month. Alex is advertising for people to reach out directly via his Facebook page.

Alex G’s forthcoming new album Beach Music will be out via Domino on October 9, 2015. The album, his seventh full-length, follows on from previous beloved albums DSU (Orchid Tapes), Trick, and Rules, which have led to a fervent cult fan base, a number of Artist To Watch designations from outlets such as Fader and Rolling Stone, and a dedicated live audience who sing along with every word.

Beach Music is available to pre-order now via the Dom Mart on LP, CD, and digital download. Limited edition deluxe vinyl and cassette offerings have already sold out, but an alternative color run of cassettes has been announced as part of this year’s International Cassette Store Day, taking place on October 17. Find a list of participating CSD retailers here and call to check availability.

Beach Music was written and recorded in Giannascoli’s apartment, between the Fall of 2014 and the Spring of 2015, during breaks from touring with the likes of Elvis Depressedly, Cymbals Eat Guitars, and Gardens & Villa. While its predecessors often came in uninterrupted bursts-from his head to his Bandcamp page in a matter of hours and days-Beach Music was shaped in part by Giannascoli adapting to life as a touring musician. Songs were written within months of one another rather than all at once, with influences ranging from noise music to piano-based laments to Southern rock to the rhythmic focus of any EDM he happened to be most interested in at the time. “Every song is coming from a different place,” he says. “It branches off in all these directions, but it has its own sound. It’s not something I do intentionally, but I’m the common thread.”

Beach Music track listing
01. Intro
02. Bug
03. Thorns
04. Kicker
05. Salt
06. Look Out
07. Brite Boy
08. In Love
09. Walk
10. Mud
11. Ready
12. Station
13. Snot

Fri Sept 25 || Bethlehem, PA || Levitt Pavilion SteelStacks !
Thurs Oct 8 || Brooklyn, NY || Baby’s All Right
Fri Oct 9 || Brooklyn, NY || Silent Barn
Tues Oct 13 || Berlin, Germany || Berghain, Kantine
Wed Oct 14 || Haldern, Germany || Haldern Pop Bar || FREE ENTRY
Thurs Oct 15 || Paris, France || Le Pop Up du Label
Fri Oct 16 || Rotterdam, Netherlands || V11
Sat Oct 17 || Brussels, Belgium || Botanique Witloofbar
Mon Oct 19 || Manchester, UK || Night & Day
Tues Oct 20 || London, UK || 100 Club
Thurs Oct 22 || Columbus, OH || Strongwater #
Fri Oct 23 || Buffalo, NY || Waiting Room #
Sat Oct 24 || Toronto, ON || Not Dead Yet Fest
Sun Oct 25 || Grand Rapids, MI || The Pyramid Scheme #
Mon Oct 26 || DeKalb, IL || The House Café #
Tues Oct 27 || Minneapolis, MN || Triple Rock Social Club #
Wed Oct 28 || Bloomington, IN || The Bishop
Thurs Oct 29 || Nashville, TN || The End #
Fri Oct 30 || Memphis, TN || Hi Tone Cafe $
Sun Nov 1 || St. Louis, MO || The Firebird $
Mon Nov 2 || Kansas City, MO || The Record Bar $
Tues Nov 3 || Springfield, MO || Outland Ballroom #
Wed Nov 4 || Oklahoma City, OK || 89th Street Collective #
Thurs Nov 5 || Dallas, TX || The Door #
Sat Nov 7 || San Antonio, TX || The Paper Tiger &
Mon Nov 9 || Houston TX || Fitzgerald’s &
Wed Nov 11 || Atlanta, GA || Purgatory – The Masquerade &^
Thurs Nov 12 || Durham, NC || Duke Coffeehouse &^
Fri Nov 13 || Baltimore, MD || Ottobar &^
Sat Nov 14 || Philadelphia, PA @ The First Unitarian Church &^

! w/ Dr. Dog
# w/ Title Fight
$ w/ Spencer Radcliffe
& w/ Girlpool
^ w/ Eskimeaux