Alex Cameron announces new album

Alex Cameron Announces New Album 'Forced Witness,'

Alex Cameron’s solution to the difficulties we face is a danceable and dangerous earnestness, a sense of honesty that heals and relieves even as it cleaves us or makes us laugh in self-defense. He’s offering us vivid portraits of misfits who look at the world without illusion. Today, the singer/songwriter has announced the details of his forthcoming release Forced Witness, out September 8th via Secretly Canadian. Along with the announcement, he has shared the lead-single and video for “Candy May”. The video, directed by Meghan McGarry. As she describes it, “Candy May is a visual, gut-wrenching longing, seeping out through the skin with a swagger that is distinctively Alex Cameron.”

Recorded in Berlin, Los Angeles, and Las Vegas and produced by Cameron along with Foxygen’s Jonathan Rado, these tracks at first seem shamelessly entertaining, the driving rhythms and rousing melodies embellished at every turn by Roy Molloy’s warm hornwork. But the love songs and anthems of personal resilience contain as much raw humanity as they do a savvy grasp of the impossible loneliness of the times, especially apparent in the song, “Stranger’s Kiss” — Cameron’s duet with Angel Olsen (who also sings backup on lead single, “Candy May”). The defiantly bloody knuckles in “Runnin’ Outta Luck,” co-written by and featuring Brandon Flowers, and the grime of wet dreams in “Country Figs” occupy the same space as the great sadness of the internet in the catchy and contemplative song “True Lies,” in which Cameron sings about that buzzing hive of randomized sexuality where we can either submit to the stirrings in our own laps or let our fragile hopes catfish us. Penultimate track “Marlon Brando,” is, as Cameron describes it, “a study of a man in the hopeless pursuit of a woman. He is a familiar character in the world, a self-assured jock, a dullard, a low grade human who uses a specific kind of language when he finds a situation outside of his control. The song’s lyrics present a damning indictment of homophobia and misogyny and their genesis in toxic masculinity.”

Alex Cameron
Forced Witness
Tracklisting:

1. Candy May
2. Country Figs
3. Runnin’ Outta Luck
4. Stranger’s Kiss (Duet with Angel Olsen)
5. True Lies
6. Studmuffin96
7. The Chihuahua
8. The Hacienda
9. Marlon Brando
10. Politics Of Love

Alex Cameron Tour Dates:
Fri. June 30 – Roskilde, DK @ Roskilde Festival
Sat. July 8 – London, UK @ BST Summer Time
Fri. July 14 – Dour, BE @ Dour Festival
Sat. July 15 – Tonsberg, NO @ Slottsfjell Festival
Mon. July 31 – Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium #
Tue. Aug. 1 – Memphis, TN @ Minglewood Hall #
Fri. – Sun. Aug. 4-6 – Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon
Thu. Aug. 17 – Saint Malo, FR @ Route du Rock La Nouvelle Vague
Sat. Aug. 19 – Paredes de Coura, PT @ Paredes de Coura
Wed. Aug. 23 – Berlin, DE @ Pop Kultur
Thu. Aug. 24 – Luxembourg, LU @ Rotondes
Fri. Aug. 25 – Antwerp, BE @ Het Bos
Sat. Aug. 26 – Leeds, UK @ This Must Be the Place Festival
Sun. Aug. 27 – Liverpool, UK @ The Shipping Forecast
Mon. Aug. 28 – Bristol, UK @ Louisiana, Bristol
Tue. Aug. 29 – Newcastle, UK @ The Academy ^
Wed. Aug. 30 – Edinburgh, UK @ Usher Hall ^
Thu. Aug. 31 – London, UK @ The Lexington – SOLD OUT
Sun. Sep. 3 – Salisbury, UK @ End of the Road Festival
Tue. Sep. 19 – Albuquerque, NM @ Sister Bar
Thu. Sep. 21 – Austin, TX @ The Sidewinder
Fri. Sep. 22 – Dallas, TX @ Double Wide Bar
Sat. Sep. 23 – New Orleans, LA @ Circle Bar
Tue. Sep. 26 – Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups
Thu. Sep. 28 – Chicago, IL @ The Hideout
Fri. Sep. 29 – Bloomington, IN @ Blockhouse Bar
Sat. Sep. 30 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Cafe
Mon. Oct. 2 – Washington, DC @ Songbyrd DC
Tue. Oct. 3 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Thu. Oct. 5 – Montreal, QC @ Brasserie Beaubien
Fri. Oct. 6 – Cambridge, MA @ Middle East Upstairs
Sat. Oct. 7 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade NYC
Thu. Dec. 5 – London, UK @ Scala

# = with Foster the People
^ = with Mac DeMarco