Franz Ferdinand are a Glasgow-based indie rock band formed in 2002. The band is composed of Alex Kapranos (lead vocals and guitar), Bob Hardy (bass guitar), Nick McCarthy (rhythm guitar, keyboards and backing vocals), and Paul Thomson (drums, percussion and backing vocals). The band first experienced chart success when their second single, “Take Me Out”, reached No. 3 in the UK Charts, followed by their debut album, Franz Ferdinand, which debuted on the UK album chart at No. 3. The band went on to win the 2004 Mercury Music Prize, and two BRIT Awards in 2005 for Best British Group and Best British Rock Act. NME named Franz Ferdinand as their Album of the Year. From the album, three top-ten singles were released: “Take Me Out”, “The Dark of the Matinée”, and “This Fire”.

Franz Ferdinand Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Actions Reviewed by Northern Transmissions. Album comes out August 26 on Domino Records

Review Of Franz Ferdinand’s New Album

A lot has changed since Franz Ferdinand cropped up back in 2004 with their sharp suited, suave take on post-punk and with four years between albums, to have the Glasgow boys back on the scene after a long hiatus feels peculiar. Not that it should matter if the four piece “fit in” anymore but with most of their,

Read More