El Ten Eleven is a Los Angeles, CA post-rock duo known for combining guitar/bass doubleneck or fretless bass, with heavy looping, or vamping, and the utility of an effects pedal, over acoustic or electric drumming. They have released five full length albums, earning generally positive reviews.

The band has earned some attention due to many of their songs being featured in the soundtracks of Gary Hustwit’s design documentaries Helvetica, Objectified, and Urbanized.

The name El Ten Eleven is derived from the name of an airplane, the Lockheed L-1011 TriStar
El Ten Eleven formed in 2002 after bassist and composer Kristian Dunn and drummer Tim Fogarty had played experimental music together in an organic/electronic four-piece group. They released their eponymous debut album, El Ten Eleven in 2004 on Fake Record Label, and through Bar/None Records on September 20, 2005. Many reviews of the album garnished the band with positive acclaim, describing the sound as atmospheric, putting a much more ethereal spin on the southwestern post-rock/Americana movement than bands like Calexico or The Court & Spark, though less electronic and more organic-sounding than Tortoise or most shoegazer bands. Comparisons have also been drawn to Sigur Rós and The Mercury Program, though reviews have heavily emphasized the duo’s utilization of a limited number musicians to create instrumental works. Spin, which awarded them the title ‘Band of the Day’, September 29, 2005, describes their work as “experimental instrumental music that’s both highly skilled and deeply felt.” They continue to play live shows in their native Los Angeles, California home and across the continental United States, and were a showcase artist at South By Southwest on March 17, 2006.

In 2007, the movie Helvetica was released with original music by Kristian Dunn, and much of the contributed music performed by the duo.[5] Their second album was also released that year, on CD format July 9, and then available later for download that August. A music video was also shot that year, for the song “Hot Cakes”, directed by video producer and writer Adam Hauck.

In late 2007, Xtal Records released the band’s second full-length album, Every Direction Is North in Japan, a version which included the bonus track “Jumping Frenchmen Of Maine.” In a January 28, 2008 blog post on their website, and MySpace page, the band released “Jumping Frenchmen of Maine” as an online download, stating that the song was from their forthcoming album. A PayPal link was included for listeners, giving them the option to pay any amount they wished for the song, much like what Radiohead had done with In Rainbows in 2007.

On July 15, 2008 the band released their third album, These Promises Are Being Videotaped.

The band released their fourth studio album, It’s Still Like a Secret, on November 9, 2010.

Their fifth album, Transitions, was released on October 2, 2012.

El Ten Eleven shares track from upcoming EP, announce February tour dates. El Ten Eleven play their first show on 12/5 at The Electric Owl in Vancouver, BC.

El Ten Eleven shares track from upcoming EP

Los Angeles-based instrumental “power duo” El Ten Eleven shares details for their forthcoming EP. The three-track EP is entitled ‘For emily’ and will be released on February 4. Hear the EP’s lead track “Nova Scotia” above.

Read More