“You and I (on the Other Side of the World)” The Weather Station

The Weather Station, aka: Tamara Lindeman, has released a new video for “You and I (on the Other Side of the World)” off her new, self-titled album, out via Paradise of Bachelors. The clip was directed by Colin Medley and filmed at a local country fair this summer.

Tamara Lindeman had on the video:

“It’s a simple love story. The two characters are always connected but always separate, which mirrors one’s state of being within a long relationship. The subtitles are a whimsy of mine, a way to include the lyrics but in a form once removed. The words are mostly ones an English speaker almost recognizes, but not quite. And they are beautiful in that way.”

“With The Weather Station, Lindeman reinvents her songcraft with a vital new energy, framing her prose-poem narratives in bolder musical settings. It’s an emotionally candid statement – a work of urgency, generosity and joy – that feels like a collection of obliquely gut-punching short stories. The album declares its understated feminist politics and new sonic directions from its first moments. There are big, buzzing guitars, thrusting drums, horror-movie strings, and her keening, Appalachian-tinged vocal melodies. Reaching towards a sort of accelerated talking blues, Lindeman sings with a new rapid-fire vocal style”.

Lindeman is currently wrapping up a set of European dates before starting her North American tour, where she’ll be joined by fellow labelmate, James Elkington. She’s also announced a set of follow up European dates in early 2018.

The Weather Station
Tour Dates:

Tue. Oct 24 – Manchester, UK @ Eagle Inn
Thu. Oct 26 – Amsterdam, NE @ Tolhuistuin
Fri. Oct 27 – Paris, FR @ Pop Up Du Label
Sun. Oct 29 – Berlin, DE @ Monarch
Wed. Nov. 1 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg #
Thu. Nov. 2 – San Francisco, CA @ Café Du Nord #
Sat. Nov. 4 – Spokane, WA @ The Bartlett #
Sun. Nov. 5 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios #
Mon. Nov. 6 – Seattle, WA @ Sunset #
Wed. Nov. 8 – Vancouver, BC @ Fox Theatre #
Fri. Nov. 24 – Toronto, ON @ The Great Hall
Tue. Nov. 28 – New York, NY @ Rough Trade #
Wed. Nov. 29 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle #
Thu. Nov. 30 – Chapel Hill, NC @ Cat’s Cradle #
Sat. Dec. 2 – Chicago, IL @ The Hideout #
Wed. Dec. 6 – Montreal, QC @ Divan Orange
Thu. Dec. 7 – Quebec City, QC @ Le Cercle
Fri. Dec. 8 – Halifax, NS @ The Carleton
Sat. Dec. 9 – Sackville, NB @ Thunder & Lightning
Thu. Jan. 25 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Fri. Jan. 26 – Newcastle, UK @ The Cluny 2
Sat. Jan. 27 – Glasgow, UK @ Celtic Connections
Sun. Jan. 28 – Dublin, IE @ The Grand Social
Tue. Jan. 31 – Birmingham, UK @ Hare & Hounds 2
Thu. Feb. 1 – Brighton, UK @ Latest Music Bar
Fri. Feb. 2 – Bristol, UK @ Croters Rights
Sat. Feb. 3 – Liverpool, UK @ Central Library

# = with James Elkington