“Untry Love” by Split Single

Yesterday, Split Single released their new video for “Untry Love”, taken from their newly released sophomore album, Metal Frames, out now through Inside Outside Records. Directed by Rob Hatch-Miller and Puloma Basu and written and produced by Split Single’s own Jason Narducy, the video sees comedian Dave Hill and musician Anya Marina teach Jason how to be the ultimate between-song frontman — everything from tossing guitar picks to the fans, sipping water, guitar solo interludes, wardrobe changes, even ventriloquism. Jason says:

“I wanted to harmlessly poke fun at how bands sometimes concern themselves with frivolous details. I did this as a young musician. The storyline I wrote for this video takes that to the extreme for the sake of (hopefully) being funny. Dave and Anya are good friends who liked the premise and I was thrilled they wanted to join in for some fun.

We shot the video on November 9th in New York City, the day after the election. There was deep sadness on the streets and in all of our hearts. We had a meeting before we started working where we basically said, ‘We can either go home and feel terrible or we can be creative with friends and try to make something out of this shitty feeling.’ So we forged ahead. At one point in the video, I am supposed to act sad looking at an old band picture and it was not difficult to get tears in my eyes that day. But the practice space we shot at had lots of bands playing all day. There was a shit hot R&B band playing early. Later we could hear Paul Banks and RZA next door to us. They sounded amazing. The music coming out into the halls was therapeutic.”

Next month, Split Single will play select dates in the midwest and along the west coast, including a special solo performance at Noise Pop. In April, they’ll be joined by Kelley Deal’s R. Ring for a slew of east coast dates. All tickets are on sale now.

SPLIT SINGLE TOUR DATES:
Sat. Jan. 28 — Evanston, IL @ The Wine Goddess (solo)
Fri. Feb. 3 — DeKalb, IL @ The House Cafe
Sat. Feb. 4 — Milwaukee, WI @ Anodyne
Mon. Feb. 20 — Seattle, WA @ Sunset Tavern
Tue. Feb. 21 — Portland, OR @ Doug Fir
Thu. Feb. 23 — Los Angeles, CA @ Resident
Fri. Feb. 24 — San Francisco, CA @ Swedish American Hall (Noise Pop) (solo) #
Tue. Feb. 28 — New York, NY @ The HiFi Bar (solo)
Sat. March 11 — Evanston, IL @ The Wine Goddess (solo)
Mon. March 13 – Wed. March 15 — Austin, TX @ SXSW
Wed. April 19 – Newport, KY @ Southgate House*
Thu. April 20 – Columbus, OH @ Rumba Café*
Fri. April 21 – Detroit, MI @ Trinosophes*
Sat. April 22 — Chicago, IL @ Schubas*
Sun. April 23 – Cleveland, OH @ Happy Dog*
Mon. April 24 – Philadelphia, PA @ Everybody Hits*
Tue. April 25 – Kingston, NY @ BSP Kingston*
Wed. April 26 — Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right*
Thu. April 27 – Baltimore, MD @ Ottobar*
Fri. April 28 – Washington, DC @ Comet Ping Pong*
Sat. April 29 – Chapel Hill, NC @ Night Light*

# w/ The Joy Formidable
* w/ R. Ring