“When I Dance With You” The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart

The Pains of Being Pure at Heart have shared the second single from their forthcoming full-length The Echo of Pleasure, out September 1st, via the band’s imprint Painbow. The band will be playing shows across North America with The Courtneys, Ablebody, The Prids, Frankie Rose, and Beverly, starting June 14th in Boston.

With The Echo of Pleasure, The Pains push beyond their many inspirations and embrace their role as indiepop heroes in their own right. Showcasing the deft songwriting of frontman Kip Berman, The Pains’ fourth album is their most confident and accomplished. After three critically-acclaimed records,

Berman enlisted Days of Abandon producer Andy Savours (My Bloody Valentine, The Killers) to help him record a Pains record like none-other. “The logistics of it were so different. When I recorded the record, my wife was six months pregnant. We only had a limited amount of time. There was an absolute uncertainty hanging over our heads, but it was also a kind of escape from worry for that time,” he explains. “What’s going to happen when I have a kid? Am I going to be able to go on tour? Is this the last record I’m going to get to make? It’s not a bad thing to be worried when you’re expecting this huge transition of life. If you didn’t feel scared, you’re probably not feeling the right emotion. I tried to make the best record I could, knowing it might be the last time.”

The record is augmented by guest vocals featuring previous Pains collaborators: Jen Goma on “So True” (A Sunny Day in Glasgow), bass guitar by Jacob Danish Sloan (Dream Diary), and horns by Kelly Pratt (Beirut, David Byrne, St. Vincent). The Pains of Being Pure at Heart live band consists of long-time guitarist Christoph Hochheim (Ablebody, ex-Depreciation Guild), bassist Jacob Danish Sloan, drummer Chris Schackerman (ex-Mercury Girls, ex-Literature) and vocalist/keyboardist Jess Rojas. The band will tour the UK in late May, returning to New York for Northside Festival in June (see full list of dates below). The Echo of Pleasure arrives Sept. 1

The Pains of Being Pure at Heart
The Echo of Pleasure
(Painbow)
Track List:

1. My Only
2. Anymore
3. The Garret
4. When I Dance With You
5. The Echo of Pleasure
6. Falling Apart So Slow
7. So True
8. The Cure for Death
9. Stay

TOUR DATES:

Wednesday, June 14 — Boston, MA — The Sinclair *%
Thursday, June 15 — New Portsmouth, NH — 3S Artspace *%
Friday, June 16 — Montreal, QC – Bar Le Ritz *%
Saturday, June 17 — Toronto, ON — The Horseshoe Tavern *%
Monday, June 19 — Cleveland, OH — The Grog Shop *%
Tuesday, June 20 — Detroit, MI — El Club *%
Thursday, June 22 — Minneapolis, MN — 7th St Entry *#
Friday, June 23 — Madison, WI — High Noon Saloon *#
Saturday, June 24 — Chicago, IL — Lincoln Hall *#
Sunday, June 25 — St Louis, MO — The Firebird *#
Tuesday, June 27 — Nashville, TN — The High Watt *#
Wednesday, June 28 — Atlanta, GA — The Earl *#
Friday, June 30 — Chapel Hill, NC — Local 506 *#
Saturday, July 1 — Washington D.C. — Rock & Roll Hotel *#
Sunday, July 2 — Philadelphia, PA — World Cafe Live Downstairs *#
Friday, September 22 — Vancouver, BC — Biltmore Cabaret $&
Saturday, September 23 — Seattle, WA — Tractor Tavern $&
Sunday, September 24 — Portland, OR — Doug Fir Lounge $&
Tuesday, September 26 — San Francisco, CA — The Chapel $&
Wednesday, September 27 — Los Angeles, CA — Teragram Ballroom $&
Thursday, September 28 — San Diego, CA – The Loft UC $&
Sunday, October 15 — Madrid, Spain — Joy Slava
Monday, October 16 — Cordoba, Spain — Sala Hanger
Tuesday, October 17 — Granada, Spain — Lemon Rock
Thursday, October 19 — Valencia, Spain — La Rambleta
Friday, October 20 — Barcelona, Spain — Bikini
Saturday, October 21 — Santander, Spain — Escenario

* = w/ Ablebody
# = w/ Beverly
% = w/ Frankie Rose
$ = w/ The Courtneys
& = w/ The Prids