Ty Segall Debuts “The Singer” Video


Ty Segall sings “The Singer,” and his strums bring you into the room there with him, summoning the spirit of the Ty Segall Band all around as well. With nothing but the junk and the ghosts and his guitar, Ty draws us magnetically into the power of the Singer. Then the guitar solo sings out – and as it bites down, the room begins to spin. He’s the Singer, he sings with the la-la. Where his voice goes, no one knows. The spotlight shines whether he’s onstage or all alone. In a room below the surface, surrounded by piles of gorge and clutter destined for the junkyard, he plugs in and looks into your eyes – or where your eyes should be – and he sings.

Exploring the mythic experience of rock as sung to us by Ty Segall in “The Singer,” is Matt Yoka, the director of the “Manipulator” video, as well as the now-distant (but still amazing!) “Goodbye Bread” video. As before, he and his crew have put together an entirely natural, yet completely artificial environment for the latest dream of the (multiple) realities of Ty Segall. The songs come from his head, but sometimes you think these songs were meant for you. Does that mean that you’ve come from his head too? It’s a bit much, the way the signifier and the possible meanings here loop around and around. Play the video again . . . and again . . . and when it’s over –

Sun. Oct. 19 – La Rochelle, FR @ La Sirène
Tue. Oct. 21 – Paris, FR @ La Cigale
Wed. Oct. 22 – Toulouse, FR @ Le Bikini
Thu. Oct. 23 – Barcelona, ES @ Sala Apolo
Fri. Oct. 24 – Madrid, ES @ But
Sat. Oct. 25 – Lisbon, PT @ Lux Frágil
Mon. Oct. 27 – San Sebastian, ES @ Intxaurrondo K.E.
Tue. Oct. 28 – Clermont Ferrand, FR @ La Coopérative de Mai
Wed. Oct. 29 – Geneva, CH @ PTR Usine
Thu. Oct. 30 – Bologna, IT @ Locomotiv
Fri. Oct. 31 – Rome, IT @ Init Club
Sat. Nov. 1 – Venice, IT @ Interzone Art Centre
Mon. Nov. 3 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Tue. Nov. 4 – Hamburg, DE @ Knust
Wed. Nov. 5 – Dresden, DE @ Beatpol
Thu. Nov. 6 – Berlin, DE @ Astra Kulturhaus
Fri. Nov. 7 – Copenhagen, DK @ Pumpehuset
Sat. Nov. 8 – Stockholm, SE @ Kägelbanan Södra Teatern
Mon. Nov. 10 – Manchester, UK @ Gorilla
Tue. Nov. 11 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Wed. Nov. 12 – London, UK @ Electric Ballroom
Thu. Dec. 11 – Perth, AU @ The Bakery
Sat. Dec. 13 – Meredith, AU @ Meredith Festival
Sun. Dec. 14 – Melbourne, AU @ Corner Hotel
Mon. Dec. 15 – Melbourne, AU @ Corner Hotel
Wed. Dec. 17 – Sydney, AU @ Oxford Art Factory
Thu. Dec. 18 – Sydney, AU @ Oxford Art Factory
Fri. Dec. 19 – Brisbane, AU @ The Zoo
Sat. Dec. 20 – Byron Bay, AU @ The Northern

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *