Steve Gunn Shares Video For “Way Out Weather,

Steve Gunn Shares Video For New Song, "Way Out Weather," And Announces More Tour Dates, starting September, 5 in Raleigh, NC

“Way Out Weather,” is the title track off the new Steve Gunn album. Shot on bike while on a 1000K trek through Mongolia in 2007, KT Auleta‘s video for “Way Out Weather” is an excellent visual accompaniment. The opening shot is a smaller iteration of a prayer mound that Mongolians make at crossroads – the Way Out Weather album cover is a much larger example, photographed on the same journey. KT, who handled the video’s directing, cinematography and editing, explains further below.

“When you pass by a crossroads in Mongolia, you are meant to find a stone, throw it on the pile, and say a prayer, circling it 3 times. It’s for safe travels. On the bigger crossroads the piles can get huge, with prayer flags too. On a smaller one, it’s really little and cute. Traditionally, Mongolians are truly nomadic people. Though it’s getting smaller all the time, most of the population live in tents and move to find grazing for their animals and to sell their wool in the summer. Successful travel is one of the most important things to them.”

Way Out Weather is out October 7th on Paradise of Bachelors.


STEVE GUNN TOUR DATES (new dates in bold):

Fri. Sept. 5 – Raleigh, NC @ Hopscotch Music Festival

Wed. Sept. 17 – Milwaukee, WI @ Acme Records w/ Michael Chapman

Fri. Sept. 19 – Minneapolis, MN @ Turf Club – Old Familiar Chime Festival w/ Michael Chapman

Sun. Sept. 21 – New Windsor, NY @ Storm King Art Center w/ The Felice Brothers

Sat. Oct. 4 – Hudson, NY @ The Half Moon

Sun. Oct. 5 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Rowhouse Theater – VIA Festival

Sun. Oct. 6 – Louisville, KY @ Dreamland

Tue. Oct. 7 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas

Wed. Oct. 8 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop

Thu. Oct. 9 – Nashville, TN @ The Stone Fox

Fri. Oct. 10 – Durham, NC @ Pinhook

Sat. Oct. 11 – Charlottesville, VA @ Twisted Branch Tea Bazaar

Sun. Oct. 12 – Brooklyn, NY Rough Trade

Mon. Oct. 13 – Boston, MA @ The Great Scott

Tue. Oct. 14 – Montreal, Quebec @ Vitrola

Wed. Oct. 15 – Toronto, ON @ The Drake

Fri. Oct. 17 – Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA

Mon. Oct. 27 – Berlin, DE @ Heimathafen w/ The War On Drugs

Tue. Oct. 28 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso w/ The War On Drugs

Wed. Oct. 29 – Ghent, BE @ Democrazy

Sat. Nov. 1 – Luxembourg, LU @ Rockhal w/ The War On Drugs

Sun. Nov. 2 – Brussels, BE @ Ancienne Belgique w/ The War On Drugs

Tue. Nov. 4 – Liverpool, UK @ 02 Academy w/ The War On Drugs

Wed. Nov. 5 – London, UK @ Roundhouse w/ The War On Drugs

Thu. Nov. 6 – Bristol, UK @ 02 Academy w/ The War On Drugs

Fri. Nov. 7 – Manchester, UK @ The Ritz w/ The War On Drugs

Sat. Nov. 8 – Glasgow, UK @ 02 ABC Glasgow w/ The War On Drugs

Sun. Nov. 9 – York, UK @ The Fulford Arms

Mon. Nov. 10 – Coventry, UK @ Tin Angel

Tue. Nov. 11 – Falmouth, UK @ Beerwolf

Wed. Nov. 12 – London, UK @ Cafe Oto w/ Mike Cooper

Thu. Nov. 13 – St. Leonards, UK @ Kave Gallery

Fri. Nov. 14 – Cotswolds, UK @ Cotswolds Village Hall

Sat. Nov. 15 – Ramsgate, UK @ Music Halloffer

Mon. Nov. 17 – Zurich, CH @ El Lokal

Tue. Nov. 18 – Lausanne, CH @ Le Bourg

Thu. Nov. 20 – Paris, FR @ Espace En Cours

Fri. Nov. 21 – Stuttgart, DE @ Tonstudio

Sat. Nov. 22 – Antwerp, BE @ Autumn Falls Festival @ Trix

Sun. Nov. 23 – Utrecht, NL @ Le Guess Who Festival

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *