Sharon Van Etten shares “Taking Chances”

Sharon Van Etten's shares the video for "Taking Chances" New Album Are we there comes Out 5/27 On Jagjaguwar. Sharon Van Etten plays 5/8 in Northampton, MA


Today, Sharon Van Etten has shared her new video for “Taking Chances,” the first single off Are We There, out May 27th on Jagjaguwar. Inspired by Agnès Vardaa vital and somewhat overlooked voice in modern French Cinema, and her 1962 film, Cleo from 5 to 7, the “Taking Chances” video was written, shot and directed by director Michael Palmieri.

Says Michael, “When I first heard the song, the lyrics immediately made me think about the opening sequence to the great Agnes Varda film, Cleo from 5 to 7, one of my favorites. I usually take time to mull over ideas before coming up with something decent to share with an artist, but this one just came out immediately.

I sketched an idea and sent it off to Sharon and Zeke Hutchins, her manager, and didn’t hear back from them for over a week. I thought I’d blown it! But soon Zeke contacted me and asked if Sharon had sent me the album artwork. I said I hadn’t even heard anything else off the album yet, let alone seen anything from it. Sharon then texted me pretty much the same question, ‘Did Zeke send you the album before you wrote this?’ I didn’t understand what the big deal was . . .

Finally they sent me a photograph that is a big component of the album artwork. It is a beautifully aged picture of Agnes Varda standing in front of a bazillion reels of 16mm film. This image of one of my filmmaking heroes has been hanging on Sharon’s wall wherever she has lived for years and years to the point where it’s all tattered and weather-worn. I like to think that Ms. Varda is standing in front of a bunch of reels from Cleo from 5 to 7, but who knows. It’s just one of the strangest coincidences, and it made us all feel like the video had to be made. So now I can safely say the video is inspired by two incredible women: Sharon, for her musical inspiration, and Agnes Varda, whose inspiration on the both of us is quite apparent.”


Sharon Van Etten Tour Dates:

Thu. May 8 – Northampton, MA  @ Iron Horse Music Hall

Fri. May 9 – Hudson, NY @ Helsinki Hudson

Sat. May 10 – Providence, RI @ Columbus Theatre

Sun. May 11 – Hamden, CT @ Ballroom at the Outer Space

Sun. May 25 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique Grand Salon (Nuits Botanique)

Wed. May 28 – Paris, FR @ Café de la Danse

Fri. May 30 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound

Sun. June 1 – Koln, DE @ Studio 672

Mon. June 2 – Berlin, DE @ Privatclub

Tue. June 3 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet

Thu. June 5 – London, UK @ KOKO

Wed. June 11 – Boston, MA @ Sinclair

Thu. June 12 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall at Williamsburg (Northside Festival)

Fri. June 13 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom

Sat. June 14 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom

Tue. June 17 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club

Wed. June 18 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer

Thu. June 19 – Millvale, PA @ Mr. Small’s

Fri. June 20 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom

Sat. June 21 – Nashville, TN @ Exit In

Tue. June 24 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater

Wed. June 25 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge

Sat. June 28 – Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey Theatre

Sun. June 29 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent

Mon. June 30 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent

Wed. July 2 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir

Thu. July 3 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir

Sat. July 5 – Seattle, WA @ Neptune Theatre

Sun. July 6 – Vancouver, BC @ Rickshaw Theatre

Tue. July 8 – Calgary, AB @ Republik

Wed. July 9 – Edmonton, AB @ Starlite Room

Thu. July 10 – Saskataoon, SK @ Amigo’s Cantina

Mon. July 14 – Fargo, ND @ Aquarium

Wed. July 16 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue

Thu. July 17 – Madison, WI @ University of Wisconsin

Fri. July 18 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival

Sat. July 19-Sun. July 20 – Louisville, KY @ Forecastle Festival

Thu. Aug. 14 – Sun. Aug. 17 – Crickhowell, UK @ Glanusk Park – Green Man Festival

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *