Said The Whale share new tune “Miscarriage”

Said The Whale

Said The Whale have shared the second taste from their upcoming LP ‘As Long As Your Eyes Are Wide’. ‘Miscarriage’ reflects on the two miscarriages that singer Tyler Bancroft and his partner went through in 2015.

Tyler Bancroft had this to say about the experience, and the song that came from it:

“Miscarriage is a unique kind of loss in that you’re mourning what could have been. It’s a lonely kind of loss, because miscarriage is rarely discussed. And it’s a loss of control – realizing that the future may not turn out the way you had imagined it. For me this was especially disarming since I didn’t realize how much I wanted a child until I was faced with the possibility of never having one. Miscarriage strips the joy from pregnancy and turns it into a source of grief and anxiety. But whatever sadness and anger I was feeling was only a fraction of what my partner was experiencing. The shame associated with her body not doing what it’s “biologically designed to do”, the loss of control, and the uncertainty about reproductive health – these things are all devastating. Watching the person you love go through that is heartbreaking, and it took everything I had to comfort her along with trying to comfort myself. I wrote this song in the throes of our experience. It was cathartic and therapeutic, and a lot of tears were shed. I won’t say I’m glad we went through what we did, but I will say that our experience has provided me with a perspective and an empathy that I may not have otherwise had. Our experience also makes me feel like the luckiest person on earth because our story has a happy ending – our third pregnancy was carried to term and our son was born in the summer of 2016″.

New album As Long As Your Eyes Are Wide, is out on March 31 via Hidden Pony Records.

Said The Whale on Tour:
Friday 31 March 2017
Said The Whale
Lee’s Palace, Toronto, ON, Canada

Saturday 01 April 2017
Said The Whale
Lee’s Palace, Toronto, ON, Canada

Tuesday 04 April 2017
Said The Whale
Rum Runners – London Music Hall Complex, London, ON, Canada

Wednesday 05 April 2017
Said The Whale
Bronson Centre Theatre, Ottawa, ON, Canada

Thursday 06 April 2017
Said The Whale
Café Campus, Montreal, QC, Canada

Friday 07 April 2017
Said The Whale
Centre in the Square, Kitchener, ON, Canada

Saturday 08 April 2017
Said The Whale
Red Dog, Peterborough, ON, Canada

Tuesday 11 April 2017
Said The Whale
Iron Works, Buffalo, NY, US

Wednesday 12 April 2017
Said The Whale
Mercury Lounge, New York, NY, US

Thursday 13 April 2017
Said The Whale
Kung Fu Necktie, Philadelphia, PA, US

Thursday 27 April 2017
Said The Whale
Hope Bay Studio, Pender Island, BC, Canada

Friday 28 April 2017
Said The Whale
Sugar Nightclub, Victoria, BC, Canada

Saturday 29 April 2017
Said The Whale
Vogue Theatre, Vancouver, BC, Canada

Wednesday 03 May 2017
Said The Whale
The Habitat, Kelowna, BC, Canada

Thursday 04 May 2017
Said The Whale
Commonwealth Bar, Calgary, AB, Canada

Friday 05 May 2017
Said The Whale
Starlite Room, Edmonton, AB, Canada

Saturday 06 May 2017
Said The Whale
Cosmopolitan Senior Centre, Saskatoon, SK, Canada

Sunday 07 May 2017
Said The Whale
Park Theatre, Winnipeg, MB, Canada