PWR BTTM announce new album ‘Pageant’

PWR BTTM announce sophomore album 'Pageant'
Photo by Ebru Yildiz

On PWR BTTM’s forthcoming sophomore album Pageant, set for release on May 12 through Big Scary Monsters/Polyvinyl, glammed and glittered duo Ben Hopkins and Liv Bruce tackle their diary-like explorations of life, identity and existential crises head-on. Pageant is a vital exploration of self that’s hot with friction, angst and hope, both hilarious and heart wrenching.

Pageant is ferociously emotiona; passionate narratives set to cutting rock and roll anthems. The album builds upon PWR BTTM’s debut Ugly Cherries with a refined song craft and new flourishes including horns, flutes, keyboard and even an impromptu choir. The result is thirteen original songs that burst with laughter, tears and triumph. Pageant was produced by Christopher Daly and Cameron West, and was recorded primarily in the top floor of a furniture factory in Geneva, New York.

Ben Hopkins takes his guitar playing and vocal fierceness to new heights, and with newfound openness. The duo swap instruments on the record and live, constantly alternating between Hopkins’ finger-picking solos and Liv Bruce’s drumming. Watch the new video for the first single from the record, “Big Beautiful Day” where a normal morning of breakfast and couch sitting turns into a glitter-fuelled dance party with crowd surfing, fireworks, and confetti.

PWR BTTM will tour extensively in 2017, including an EU and UK tour, beginning April 10, 2017 in Dublin, Ireland. The duo will also appear at SXSW 2017 and play some of their biggest venues yet, including a headlining show at Webster Hall in NYC.

PWR BTTM TOUR DATES
Wed, Feb 15 – Charlottesville, VA – The Southern Café + Music Hall
Thu, Feb 16 – Baltimore, MD – Metro Gallery**
Fri, Feb 17 – Philadelphia, PA – PhilaMOCA**
Sat, Feb 18 – Brooklyn, NY – The Knitting Factory**
Sun, Feb 19 – Providence, RI – Columbus Theater**
Thu, Feb 23 – Oakland, CA – Starline Social Club**
Mon, Feb 27 – Los Angeles, CA – Highland Park Ebell Club**
Mon, Apr 10 – Dublin, Ireland – The Workman’s Club
Tue, Apr 11 – Manchester, UK – The Deaf Institute
Wed, Apr 12 – Sheffield, UK – The Harley Hotel & Bar
Thu, Apr 13 – Birmingham, UK – Hare & Hounds
Sat, Apr 15 – Glasgow, UK – Centre for Contemporary Arts
Sun, Apr 16 – Bristol, UK – Exchange
Mon, Apr 17 – Brighton, UK – The Haunt
Tue, Apr 18 – London, UK – The Garage
Thu, Apr 20 – Nantes, FR – Stereolux
Fri, Apr 21 – Bourges, FR – Printemps de Bourges
Sat, Apr 22 – Paris, FR – Venue TBA
Mon, Apr 24 – Lille, FR – L’aeronef
Tue, Apr 25 – Rouen, FR – 106
Mon, Mar 13 – Sun, Mar 19 – Austin, TX – SXSW 2017
Fri, May 26 – Toronto, ON – Velvet Underground
Tue, May 30 – Chicago, IL – Subterranean
Thu, Jun 01 – Minneapolis, MN – Triple Rock Social Club
Fri, Jun 02 – Omaha, NE – Slowdown
Mon, Jun 05 – Dallas, TX – Club Dada
Tue, Jun 06 – Austin, TX – Barracuda
Wed, Jun 07 – Houston, TX – White Oak Music Hall
Thu, Jun 08 – New Orleans, LA – Gasa Gasa
Fri, Jun 09 – Tallahassee, FL – The Wilbury
Sat, Jun 10 – Orlando, FL – Backbooth
Mon, Jun 12 – Atlanta, GA – Hell @ The Masquerade
Tue, Jun 13 – Nashville, TN – Mercy Lounge
Thu, Jun 15 – Durham, NC – The Pinhook
Fri, Jun 16 – Washington, DC – Black Cat
Sat, Jun 17 – Philadelphia, PA – Union Transfer
Mon, Jun 19 – Allston, MA – Brighton Music Hall
Tue, Jun 20 – Providence, RI – Columbus Theatre
Wed, Jun 21 – New York, NY – Webster Hall
Fri, Jul 07 – Pittsburgh, PA – Cattivo
Sat, Jul 08 – Columbus, OH – The Basement
Sun, Jul 09 – St. Louis, MO – Off Broadway
Wed, Jul 12 – Tucson, AZ – 191 Toole
Sat, Jul 15 – Los Angeles, CA – Teragram Ballroom
Sun, Jul 16 – San Francisco, CA – Great American Music Hall
Tue, Jul 18 – Portland, OR – Hawthorne Theatre
Wed, Jul 19 – Seattle, WA – Neumos
Fri, Jul 21 – Vancouver, BC – The Biltmore Cabaret
Sat, Jul 22 – Spokane, WA – The Bartlett
Sun, Jul 23 – Missoula, MT – Zootown Arts Community Center
Tue, Jul 25 – Salt Lake City, UT – Kilby Court
Thu, Jul 27 – Denver, CO – The Bluebird Theater
Sun, Jul 30 – Lakewood, OH – Mahall’s

Pageant Track List:

1. Silly
2. Answer My Text
3. LOL
4. Won’t
5. Now, Now
6. Sissy
7. Pageant
8. Oh Boy
9. New Trick
10. Wash
11. Kids’ Table
12. Big Beautiful Day
13. Styrofoam

PWR BTTM Pageant sleeve