Nap Eyes debut new video

Nap Eyes release new video for "I'm Bad"
Nap Eyes

Nap Eyes have release another single off their forthcoming release, I’m Bad Now. Accompanying “I’m Bad” is a video directed by Halifax-based filmmaker Seth Smith. “It’s a pretty relaxed, contemplative track. It made me think of someone posing for a portrait,” says Seth. “I was thinking of self-image and the idea of seeing yourself through another person’s eyes. It was a fun set up, and a great group of not-bad people.” Nigel adds, “We’re very happy we got to collaborate with Seth to make this video. He’s an old friend, and an artist and songwriter we’ve all looked up to for many years. Keep an eye out for his feature films The Crescent (2017) and Lowlife (2012), and please listen to the music of Dog Day, if you have the opportunity!”

While Nigel composes Nap Eyes songs in their inchoate form at home in Halifax, Brad Loughead (lead guitar), Josh Salter (bass), and Seamus Dalton (drums), who live a twelve-hour drive away in Montreal, augment and arrange them, transubstantiating his skeletal, ruminative wafers into discourses that aim to transcend what Nigel self-laceratingly deems “bored and lazy disappointment art.” The band provides ballast and bowsprit to Nigel’s cosmical mind. The nautical metaphor is not just whimsy: Nap Eyes are all Nova Scotians by raising and temperament, acclimated to life on an Atlantic peninsula linked narrowly to the rest of North America. Brad is a physical guitarist whose lyrical grace is matched only by the dark ferocity of his feedback-laced solos, while Josh and Seamus exercise an unassuming mind-meld melodicism and vigor with their gentle thrumming.

Nap Eyes will tour North America and Europe this spring in support of I’m Bad Now, starting with a record release show in their adopted hometown of Montreal on March 8th. A full list of dates is below.

I’m Bad Now comes out March 9th via Paradise of Bachelors (U.S.), You’ve Changed (Canada) and Jagjaguwar (rest of world).

Nap Eyes Tour Dates:

Thu. March 8 – Montreal, QC @ Casa Del Popolo
Tue. April 3 – Toronto, ON @ The Baby G
Wed. April 4 – Detroit, MI @ Deluxx Fluxx
Thu. April 5 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop
Fri. April 6 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas
Sat. April 7 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry
Mon. April 9 – St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway
Tue. April 10 – Nashville, TN @ The High Watt
Thu. April 12 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Fri. April 13 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook
Sat. April 14 – Asheville, NC @ The Mothlight
Mon. April 16 – Washington, DC @ DC9
Tue. April 17 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Thu. April 19 – Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere – Zone One
Fri. April 20 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott
Mon. April 30 – Copenhagen, DK @ Ideal Bar at Vega
Tue. May 1 – Aarhus, DK @ TAPE
Wed. May 2 – Berlin, DE @ Monarch
Thu. May 3 – Hamburg, DE @ Hafenklang
Fri. May 4 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso (upstairs)
Sat. May 5 – Cologne, DE @ King Georg
Sun. May 6 – Gent, BE @ Dok
Mon. May 7 – Paris, FR @ Supersonic
Tue. May 8 – London, UK @ Oslo Hackney
Wed. May 9 – Birmingham, UK @ Hare And Hounds
Thu. May 10 – Glasgow, UK @ Hug & Pint
Fri. May 11 – Manchester, UK @ Soup Kitchen
Sat. May 12 – Brighton, UK @ Prince Albert