Moon Duo release “Cold Fear” video

Moon Duo release new video for "Cold Fear"

Leading into the Friday February 3rd release of Moon Duo’s two-part album, Occult Architecture Vol. 1, Ripley Johnson (guitar) and Sanae Yamada (keyboards) have shared the new animated video for lead single, “Cold Fear.” The video’s animation was directed by Micah Buzan and embraces Moon Duo’s darker qualities in line with the themes of Vol. 1. Buzan describes his process in creating the video:

“For Moon Duo’s music video, I had 5 weeks to make 5 minutes of animation. Being a one-man-studio, one minute of animation can easily take me 100 hours to produce. Oddly enough, I was mostly in a calm state while making this animation, despite the tight deadline. I learned how to animate more quickly by trusting in the process to take care of itself. I animated one scene after another, with basically no idea for what was going to happen next. Moon Duo gave my some tips for the video and a general idea for how to end it so that we could lead into the next video, but other than knowing the ending, I had no idea what I was doing.

The main objective was to create visuals that matched the paranoid energy of Moon Duo’s song “Cold Fear”. There is a theme in my animation of growth and decay, which mirrors Moon Duo’s Yin and Yang concept from their new work.”

Moon Duo’s Occult Architecture Vol. 1 is out this Friday, February 3rd through Sacred Bones. Following a release day hometown show in Portland, the band will tour throughout North America and Europe beginning later this month. Stay tuned for news of Vol. 2!

Moon Duo Tour Dates:
Fri. Feb. 3 – Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom – Sabertooth Festival
Wed. Feb. 22 – Santa Cruz, CA @ Don Quixote’s
Thu. Feb. 23 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel – Noise Pop
Fri. Feb. 24 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Sat. Feb. 25 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah
Fri. Mar. 3 – Seattle, WA @ Sunset Tavern
Sat. Mar. 4 – Vancouver, BC @ Cobalt
Wed. Mar. 15 – Newcastle, UK @ Northumbria University
Thu. Mar. 16 – Manchester, UK @ Band On The Wall
Fri. Mar. 17 – London, UK @ Heaven
Sat. Mar. 18 – Paris, FR @ Le Trabendo
Sun. Mar. 19 – Nancy, FR @ L’Autre Canal
Mon. Mar. 20 – Zurich, CH @ Mascotte
Tue. March 21 – Dudingen, CH @ Bad Bonn
Thu. Mar. 23 – Budapest, HU @ A38
Fri. Mar. 24 – Graz, AT @ Orpheum Extra
Sat. Mar. 25 – Vienna, AT @ Chelsea
Mon. Mar. 27 – Leipzig, DE @ UT Connewitz w/ Grumbling Fur
Tue. Mar. 28 – Berlin, DE @ Bi Nuu w/ Grumbling Fur
Wed. Mar. 29 – Copenhagen, DK @ Pumphuset
Thu. Mar. 30 – Oslo, NO @ Bla
Fri. Mar. 31 – Stockholm, SE @ Kagelbanan
Sat. Apr. 1 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pusterviks
Mon. Apr. 3 – Groningen, NL @ Vera Club
Tue. Apr. 4 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Noord
Wed. Apr. 5 – Eindhoven, NL @ Effenaar
Thu. Apr. 6 – Brighton, UK @ The Haunt
Fri. Apr. 7 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Sat. Apr. 8 – Glasgow, UK @ Stereo
Fri. Apr. 21 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle w/ Jackie Lynn
Sat. Apr. 22 – Detroit, MI @ El Club w/ Jackie Lynn
Sun. Apr. 23 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern w/ Jackie Lynn
Tue. Apr. 25 – Montreal, QC @ La Sala Rossa w/ Jackie Lynn
Wed. Apr. 26 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott w/ Jackie Lynn
Thu. Apr. 27 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade w/ Jackie Lynn
Fri. Apr. 28 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s w/ Jackie Lynn
Sat. Apr. 29 – Washington, DC @ DC9 w/ Jackie Lynn
Sun. Apr. 30 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern w/ Jackie Lynn
Mon. May 1 – Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups w/ Jackie Lynn