Montero announces new album ‘Performer’

Montero announces new album 'Performer', shares video for "Tokin Al Night"
Montero

Montero has announced his new album, Performer, coming out February 2, 2018 on Chapter Music. Along with the announcement, he’s sharing the new single, “Tokin’ The Night Away,” accompanied by an animated video Montero made himself.

Montero is Australian artist and musician Ben Montero, who is based variously in Athens, Melbourne, New York, Austin and anywhere else he can lay his hat. As well as being somewhat of an idiosyncratic character and musical mastermind, he is also a visual artist. Ben’s comic-based style highlights the universality of small human moments via a cast of furry (or sometimes slimy) friends. He draws a column for Vice and his art has graced album covers, t-shirts and posters for Mac DeMarco, Ariel Pink, Kurt Vile, Pond and others.

The album Performer was produced by Ben, Jay Watson of Tame Impala/Pond/Gum, and Grammy Award winning engineer Riccardo Damian at Mark Ronson’s Tileyard studios in London. All instruments were played by Ben, Jay and Riccardo, save some violin by Emily, a waitress from the studio cafe, and electric piano from Ben’s uncle Jason.

Montero begins his European support tour with Mac DeMarco tonight in Hamburg, before heading to UK/Ireland for a series of dates, including a headline show at The Shacklewell Arms in London next Wednesday, November 15th. He will play songs from Performer. A full list of dates is below.

MONTERO EU & UK TOUR DATES:

Tue. Nov. 7 – Hamburg, DE @ Grunspan w/ Mac DeMarco
Wed. Nov. 8 – Berlin, DE @ Astra w/ Mac DeMarco
Thu. Nov. 9 – Berlin, DE @ Astra w/ Mac DeMarco
Fri. Nov. 10 – Cologne, DE @ Kantine w/ Mac DeMarco
Sat. Nov. 11 – Lille, FR @ Aeronef w/ Mac DeMarco
Mon. Nov. 13 – Nantes, FR @ Stereolux w/ Mac DeMarco
Tue. Nov. 14 – Paris, FR @ Olympia w/ Mac DeMarco
Wed. Nov. 15 – London, UK @ The Shacklewell Arms
Fri. Nov. 17 – London, UK @ Coronet w/ Mac DeMarco
Sat. Nov. 18 – London, UK @ Coronet w/ Mac DeMarco
Sun. Nov. 19 – London, UK @ Coronet w/ Mac DeMarco
Mon. Nov. 20 – Nottingham, UK @ Rock City Main Hall w/ Mac DeMarco
Tue. Nov. 21 – Liverpool, UK @ O2 Academy w/ Mac DeMarco
Wed. Nov. 22 – Dublin, IRE @ Vicar Street w/ Mac DeMarco
Fri. Nov. 24 – Glasgow, UK @ Barrowlands w/ Mac DeMarco
Sat. Nov. 25 – Machester, UK @ Academy w/ Mac DeMarco
Sun. Nov. 26 – Bristol, UK @ O2 Academy w/ Mac DeMarco
Mon. Nov. 27 – Brighton, UK @ Dome w/ Mac DeMarco
Tue. Nov. 28 – Brussels, BE @ AB w/ Mac DeMarco
Wed. Nov. 29 – Utrecht, NL @ Tivoli w/ Mac DeMarco
Thu. Nov. 30 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso w/ Mac DeMarco