Menace Beach Share New Track

Menace Beach share new track off 'Super Transporterreum' EP, out October 2 on Memphis Industries.

Having released their debut album, Ratworld, in January of this year, Menace Beach’s fizzing, over caffeinated music needed another outlet. So, in-between touring with the likes of Drenge and the Cribs, and becoming one of Johnny Marr’s new favourite bands, Menace Beach found time to head into the Suburban Home studio with Hookworm’s MJ to record a brand new EP, set for release this Autumn.

With its title coming from a flu-fever hallucination Liza experienced while on tour, the title track Super Transporterreum perfectly sums up Menace Beach’s off-kilter approach, all effervescent melody and hurtling fuzzed up guitars, not to mention the juddering half-speed choruses that, according to Menace Beach, feature “three bass guitars simultaneously doing a Bryan May riff.” “Hey Toupe” is an adrenaline fuelled arpeggiated thrash that Ryan says is “about a guy in London that made my skin crawl so much that it left my body and started heading back up the M1”.

Elsewhere, Ghoul Power cranks up the grunge in a tale about a pocketsize alien ghoul who soaks up your darkness and anxieties, who ends up a sweaty pale wreck after Menace Beach take him to too many parties and shows (“It isn’t meant to be as cheaply metaphorical as it sounds” says Ryan). The Line’s big hearted Big Star inspired melodicism was written after spending the afternoon doing a Geri Haliwell workout video in Rotterdam with a pensioner, and Radiate Me is either about being so fed up “I was praying for a nuclear missile to smash straight into my stupid face”(Ryan) or “A nice song about the sun” (Liza).

Super Transporterreum EP Track Listing

1. Super Transporterreum
2. Hey Toupe
3. Ghoul Power
4. The Line
5. Radiate Me

Menace Beach will head in to the studio to record their second album. Upcoming UK tour dates as follows:

Fri 17 Jul – Fell Foot Sound Festival
Fri 24 Jul – Secret Garden Party
Sat 25 Jul – Deer Shed Festival
Thu 03 Sep – End of the Road Festival
Fri 18 Sep – La Macanique Ondulatoire, Paris
Sat 19 Sep – Leffingeleuren Festival, Belgium
Sun 20 Sep – Bitterzoet, Amsterdam
Tue 22 Sep – Comet Club, Berlin
Wed 23 Sep – Reeperbahn Festival, Hamburg
Fri 25 Sep – Liverpool, International Psych Fest
Sun 27 Sep – Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
Wed 30 Sep – Harley, Sheffield
Thu 01 Oct – XFM X:posure Live, Barfly, London
Fri 02 Oct – Bodega, Nottingham

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *