Meatbodies Share “Tremmors,” Announce Album

Meatbodies Share "Tremmors," Announce Debut self titled Album, out 10/14 on In The Red, Tour with Purling Hiss, Ty Segall, starting August 16 in Los Angeles

Unabashed, unrestrained, beautiful and strange. Meatbodies, birthed from the mind of Los Angeles-bred Chad Ubovich, are going to dominate your eyes and ears and give you a bang over like you’ve never had before.

But first, a little history on how Meatbodies came to be. Chad Ubovich began ripping through the rock scene in 2011 as guitarist (previously bassist) for Mikal Cronin and, eventually, bassist in FUZZ. In between tours, he spent his time recording and playing shows around Los Angeles under the name Chad and the Meatbodies. In 2012, Ty Segall released some of Chad’s bedroom recordings via cassette tape on his GOD? Records imprint. The tape was well received and people began to see Chad was more than just a sideman to his heavy hitting comrades. In 2013, In The Red took notice of Chad’s crunching, grinding sound and added his band, now simply called Meatbodies, to their roster.

For the first Meatbodies LP, titled Meatbodies, Chad chose to record in San Francisco, utilizing the foggy, psychedelic atmosphere provided by it’s surroundings, as well as the powers of master studio magician Eric “King Riff” Bauer (known for his work with Mikal Cronin, Ty Segall, Thee Oh Sees, White Fence, FUZZ and more). Chad busted out an album’s worth of songs, barely leaving the Technicolor underground quarters of Bauer’s trippy sanctuary. Though Chad and Bauer worked mostly alone, a dream team of friends, including Cory Hanson (Wand), Ty SegallErik Jimenez (Together Pangea) and Riley Youngdahl, made contributions taking the album to the next level before Chris Woodhouse took on the mixing, giving the songs final touches of controlled chaos. The end result is a sonic experience that is truly evocative of its auteur.


01. The Archer

02. Disorder

03. Mountain

04. HIM

05. Tremmors

06. Plank

07. Gold

08. Wahoo

09. Two

10. Off

11. Dark Road

12. The Master

Meatbodies will be touring extensively this fall – the first half of dates are co-headline with Hunters while the second is with Purling Hiss.

Fri. Aug. 16 — Los Angeles, CA @ Echo Park Rising

Thu. Aug. 28 — Los Angeles, CA @ Echo %

Fri. Oct. 10 — Los Angeles, CA @ The Smell #

Sat. Oct. 11 — Las Vegas, NV @The Bunkhouse #

Sun. Oct. 12 — Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court #

Mon. Oct. 13 — Denver, CO @ Hi Dive #

Tue. Oct. 14 — Lincoln, NE @ Vega #

Wed. Oct. 15 — Iowa City, IA @ The Mill #

Thu. Oct. 16 — Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue and 7th Street Entry #

Fri. Oct. 17 — Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle #

Sat. Oct 18 – Indianapolis, IN @ Debbie’s Palace of Noise and Laundry #

Sun. Oct. 19 — Detroit, MI @ PJ’s Lager House #

Mon. Oct. 20 — Rochester, NY @ The Bug Jar #

Tue. Oct. 21 — Kingston, NY @ BSP Lounge *

Wed. Oct. 22 — Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s

Thu. Oct. 23 — Brooklyn, NY @ CMJ

Fri. Oct. 24 — Brooklyn, NY @ CMJ

Sat. Oct. 25 — Toronto, ON @ Silver Dollar *

Sun. Oct. 26 — Montreal, QC @ Il Motore *

Tue. Oct. 28 — Allston, MA @ Great Scott *

Sun. Nov. 2 — Richmond, VA @ Strange Matter !

Mon. Nov. 3 — Durham, NC @ Pinhook

Tue. Nov. 4 — Asheville, NC @ Shotgun Club

Wed. Nov. 5 — Atlanta, GA @ 529 *

Thu. Nov. 6 — Nashville, TN @ The End *

Fri. Nov. 7 — New Orleans, LA @ Siberia *

Sat. Nov. 8 — Austin, TX @ FFF Nites

* w/ Purling Hiss

% w/ Ty Segall

# w/ Hunters

! w/ Purling Hiss, Together Pangea, AJ Davila, Mozes and the Firstborn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *