Mazes Announce New Album ‘Ores & Minerals’ out Feb 18th via FatCat Records and UK and Ireland Tour Dates .. Hookworms’ Remix Download

The album draws from a much broader palette than the band’s debut; utilizing repetitive loops and samples, playing up a rhythm section that could walk into any recording session by The Fall and feel comfortable, honing an expansive loose guitar sound and all the while retaining that unmistakable knack with melody. It’s a really exciting and refreshingly original record.

Of the album, the band’s Jack Cooper says, “We set about trying to make a record that was far more original and broader than the first one… a representation of all the things that inspired us rather than a small portion. We began writing with us in mind…playing to our strengths. “Bodies” was the first song…like most of the album written to repetitive loops and drones. The demo had an Arthur Russell drum loop because it sounded how Neil drums so I guess that’s where we were at. Without saying ‘there’s always been a dance element to our music’, I think we wanted to write songs that people might be able to move to, if the mood was to take them and there’s something incredibly satisfying in repetition.”

Stream album cut ‘Bodies’ here:

Tour Dates

Tue 19 Feb UK  Manchester Soup Kitchen

Wed 20 Feb UK York Stereo

Thu 21 Feb UK Glasgow Broadcast

Fri 22 Feb UK Liverpool Camp and Furnace

Sat 23 Feb EIRE Dublin  Workmans Club

Sun 24 Feb UK Leeds Brudenell Social Club

Mon 25 Feb UK Birmingham Hare & Hounds

Tue 26 Feb UK Bristol Louisiana

Wed 27 Feb UK Brighton Prince Albert

Thu 28 Feb UK London Birthdays