Julia Jacklin shares “Coming of Age” video

Julia Jacklin shares "Coming of Age" video
Photo by Shervin Lainez

Julia Jacklin has shared a new video for “Coming of Age”, a track taken from her debut album, Don’t Let The Kids Win, available now through Polyvinyl. When asked about the new video, Jacklin offered the following:

“I spent a lot of my teenage years wandering the streets of my hometown Springwood, so it seemed fitting to make the music video for “Coming of Age” with my high school friend behind the camera and my younger brother and I in front. My first job was at the Springwood gardens Chinese restaurant and I managed to get my old boss in a shot. I didn’t think he’d remember me, it’s been a decade since I spent my weekends cleaning plates and putting prawn crackers in the deep fryer.” About the track, Julia said: “It’s louder than my other songs… More guitars, more noise. It’s about the need for a new muse when one has given you all it can. It’s also like a mirror pep talk. Looking at yourself in the mirror and saying, “Come on, girl!,’ stop fretting over the passing of time and just get to work.”

This spring, Julia Jacklin will return stateside for her first North American tour since the release of Don’t Let The Kids Win. Kicking off the tour on Friday April 14 in Los Angeles at the Bootleg Theater, Jacklin will perform a select set of headline dates along the west coast before hitting the road for an extensive tour supporting Andy Shauf. The two will play cities all throughout the east coast and midwest.

Julia Jacklin Tour Dates
:
Thu. Feb. 9 — Brussels, BE @ [PIAS] Nites – [CHEZ PIAS]
Fri. Feb. 10 – Cologne, DE @ Yuca
Sat. Feb. 11 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet
Mon. Feb. 13 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow Sky Bar
Tue. Feb 14 — Copenhagen, DK @ Frost Festival
Thu. Feb. 16 – Berlin, DE @ Gruener Salon
Fri. Feb. 17 – Munich, DE @ Milla
Sat. Feb. 18 – Zürich, CH @ Papiersaal
Wed. Feb. 22 – Brighton, UK @ Green Door Store [SOLD OUT]
Thu. Feb. 23 – Manchester, UK @ Soup Kitchen [SOLD OUT]
Fri. Feb. 24 – Nottingham, UK @ Bodega
Sat. Feb 25 — Dublin, IE @ Whelans
Mon. Feb. 27 – Glasgow, UK @ King Tuts
Tue. Feb. 28 – Leeds, UK @ Headrow House [SOLD OUT]
Wed. Mar. 1 – Bristol, UK @ Louisiana [SOLD OUT]
Thu. Mar. 2 – London, UK @ Scala [SOLD OUT]
Fri. Mar. 3-4 – Oslo, NO @ By:Larm
Fri. April 14 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theater
Sat. April 15 – San Francisco, CA @ Swedish American Music Hall
Tue. April 18 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Wed. April 19 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile
Thu. April 20 – Vancouver, BC @ The Cobalt
Fri. April 21 – Toronto, ON @ The Rivoli (Canadian Music Week)
Fri. April 28 – Kingston, NY @ BSP Kingston ^
Sat. April 29 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair ^
Sun. April 30 – New Haven, CT @ Café Nine ^
Tue. May 2 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel ^
Wed. May 3 – Raleigh, NC @ Kings Barcade ^
Thu. May 4 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl ^
Fri. May 5 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa ^
Sat. May 6 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall ^
Mon. May 8 – Austin, TX @ Stubb’s Jr. ^
Tue. May 9 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada ^
Thu. May 11 – Kansas City, MO @ Riot Room ^
Fri. May 12 – St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway ^
Sat. May 13 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall ^
Mon. May 15 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Café ^
Tue. May 16 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer ^
Wed. May 17 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg ^
Fri. May 19 – Kingston, NY @ BSP ^
Sat. May 20 – Boston, MA @ The Sinclair ^
Thu. June 1 — Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Festival,
Sat. June 3 — London, UK @ Field Day
Sun. June 4 – Germany @ Orange Blossom Festival
Sat. June 24 – Netherlands @ Down The Rabbit Hole Festival
Thu. Aug 3 – Sun. Aug 6 – Oregon, USA @ Pickathon Festival
Thu. Aug. 10 – Oslo, NO @ Oya Festival

^ with Andy Shauf