Jenny Hval Shares Song Off ‘Apocalypse girl’

Jenny Hval Shares New Song "Sabbath" Off her forthcoming album 'Apocalypse, girl,'

Norwegian artist Jenny Hval has shared her second single, “Sabbath,” from her LP, Apocalypse, girl, her full-length will be available June 9th on Sacred Bones.

Jenny talks about the song:

“I think I’ve been writing this song since about 1986. Because when I was really young, I had a dream that my vagina had braces. For a long time, it (‘Sabbath’) was a monologue with a heavy drum loop and I had no idea what it was or why. It was just a galloping urge to say something. And then the chorus appeared. It’s like a mother; it just wants you to be happy. I really wanted to create something soft & loving. And I think it’s really catchy. Which is also very mothering, a mother catches you . . . I watched the film Daisies (Czechoslovak New Wave CLASSIC), while we were recording the album, and now when I think of ‘Sabbath’ I think of the two main characters in that film. Daisies is hyper surreal and an extraordinary mix of politics and desire . . . I open with saying ‘I dream I’m a boy,’ but the song is very much about girls. Girls playing, dreaming, singing, transforming. Girls speaking to and for everyone.”

For Jenny Hval, language is central, always torn between the vulnerable, the explosive and total humiliation. This is immediately evident on Hval’s third studio album, Apocalypse, girl. Told through transgressive pop music, Apocalypse, girl dreams of an old science fiction movie where gospel choirgirls are punks and run the world with autoerotic impulses.

Jenny Hval Tour Dates:
Thu. June 4 – Sun. June 7 – Oslo, NO @ Black Box Teater – Apocalypse, girl expanded concerts
Wed. June 10 – London, UK @ Royal Festival Hall w/ Perfume Genius
Thu. June 11 – Manchester, UK @ Gullivers
Fri. June 12 – Brighton, UK @ The Hope & The Ruin
Sat. June 13 – Cardiff, UK @ Clwb Ifor Bach
Sun. June 14 – London, UK @ Cafe Oto
Wed. June 17 – Amsterdam, NL @ Muziekgebouw
Thu. June 18 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique
Fri. June 19 – Paris, FR @ Espace B
Sat. June 20 – Cologne, DE @ Stadtgarten w/ Circuit de Yeux
Mon. June 22 – Berlin, DE @ Kantine am Berghain w/ Circuit de Yeux
Tue. June 23 – Hamburg, DE @ Kampnagel w/ Circuit de Yeux
Wed. June 24 – Copenhagen, DK @ Jazzhouse w/ Circuit de Yeux

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *