Franz Ferdinand drop “Always Ascending” clip

Franz Ferdinand release "Always Ascending" video
Franz Ferdinand

Franz Ferdinand have unveiled the striking new video to “Always Ascending”, the first single from their forthcoming album of the same name, out February 9th on Domino.

The charged video, shot in Paris, was directed by acclaimed French directors AB / CD / CD. Talking about the video, Alex Kapranos said:

“We’re happy to now be Always Ascending on the screen, with ABCDCD capturing the mood of the song and likenesses of the band in perfect detail. This is pretty much a typical Sunday afternoon round at Franz Ferdinand’s flat.”

The band recently announced their fifth studio album Always Ascending, which was recorded at RAK Studios in London and Motorbass in Paris, with the help of French produce Philippe Zdar (Cassius, Phoenix, The Beastie Boys).

Monday 4 December Seattle, WA Showbox Market
Tuesday 5 December Vancouver, BC Commodore (SOLD OUT)
Wednesday 6 December Vancouver, BC Commodore
Thursday 7 December Portland, OR Theater Of The Clouds (947FM Portland)
Saturday 9 December Pomona, CA The Glass House
Sunday 10 December Los Angeles, CA The Forum (KROQ Almost Acoustic Xmas)
Thursday 25 January Tokyo, Japan Shinkiba Studio Coast
Saturday 10 February Galway, Ireland Leisureland
Sunday 11 February Dublin, Ireland Olympia Theatre
Tuesday 13 February Manchester Albert Hall
Wednesday 14 February Nottingham Rock City
Friday 16 February Newcastle 02 Academy
Saturday 17 February Glasgow 02 Academy
Monday 19 February Leeds 02 Academy
Tuesday 20 February Birmingham 02 Academy
Wednesday 21 February Bristol 02 Academy
Friday 23 February Cambridge Corn Exchange
Saturday 24 February London 02 Brixton Academy
Sunday 25 February Brighton Dome
Tuesday 27 February Paris, France Zenith
Wednesday 28 February Brussels, Belgium Forest National
Thursday 1 March Hamburg, Germany Mehr! Theater
Saturday 3 March Utrecht, Netherlands TivoliVrendenburg
Sunday 4 March Groningen, Nlands De Oosterpoort
Monday 5 March Cologne, Germany Palladium
Wednesday 7 March Berlin, Germany Tempodrom
Thursday 8 March Warsaw, Poland Stodola
Friday 9 March Prague, Czech Rep. Forum Karlin
Sunday 11 March Zurich, Switzerland Halle 622
Monday 12 March Munich, Germany Tonhalle
Tuesday 13 March Vienna, Austria Gasometer
Thursday 15 March Bologna, Italy Unipol Arena
Saturday 17 March Madrid, Spain La Riviera
Monday 19 March Toulouse, France Zenith
Tuesday 20 March Montpellier, France Zenith Sud
Wednesday 21 March Lyon, France Amphi 3000
Friday 23 March Rennes, France Liberte
Saturday 24 March Caen, France Zenith
Sunday 8 April Toronto, ON Rebel
Tuesday 10 April Boston, MA House of Blues
Wednesday 11 April Washington, DC 9:30 Club
Friday 13 April Philadelphia, PA The Fillmore
Monday 16 April Brooklyn, NY Brooklyn Steel
Friday 27 April Minneapolis, MN First Avenue
Saturday 28 April Kansas City, MO The Truman
Monday 30 April Milwaukee, WI The Rave
Wednesday 2 May St. Louis, MO The Pageant
Monday 7 May Dallas, TX House of Blues
Tuesday 8 May Houston, TX White Oak Music Hall
Friday 11 May Phoenix, AZ The Van Buren
Sunday 13 May San Diego, CA North Park @ The Observatory
Tuesday 15 May Los Angeles, CA The Wiltern
Thursday 17 May Oakland, CA The Fox Theatre