Cass McCombs shares “Opposite House” video

Cass McCombs shares "Opposite House" video featuring Angel Olsen, kicks off tour September 13

Cass McCombs recently released his eighth studio album Mangy Love to a great deal of acclaim. Today, he shares the video for debut single, “Opposite House,” and as with the song, the video also features Angel Olsen. Perfectly capturing the strangeness and humor found throughout Mangy Love, director Jonny Look had this to say about the clip:

“After hearing the track I focused on channeling some of the surreal elements of Cass’s lyrics as well as the endless beauty and gentleness of it’s soundscape. I wanted the surreal elements of our video to be somewhat connected – so it wasn’t just surreal for surreal sake. Something funny, and a little strange.

During the chorus, Cass and Angel both sing ‘Oh Why?,’ and I thought that watching people blow tea across the table might have the viewers ask that same question.

For most of my ideas I try to balance beauty and silliness. It’s a kind of an inside joke – something that will hopefully make you chuckle at the very end. I wanted to present the video as though it could all be real – as though we found some ‘Tea Blowers’ to perform as a backdrop to Cass and Angel’s performance. I wanted the viewer to be amazed after the first trick, stunned at the second, and then confused by the third. Hopefully by then they feel in on the joke.”

Joining the Cass McCombs Band are friends and related acts from the underground: Delicate Steve, Be Gulls, Meg Baird, Big Search, Jack Name, Hush Arbors, and more.

Cass McCombs Tour Dates:
Tue. Sep. 13 – Big Sur, CA @ Henry Miller Library $
Wed. Sep. 14 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall *
Thu. Sep. 15 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom ^
Fri. Sep. 16 – San Diego, CA @ The Casbah %
Sat. Sep. 17 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar %
Mon. Sep. 19 – Austin, TX @ The Parish %
Tue. Sep. 20 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall Upstairs %
Wed. Sep. 21 – Dallas, TX @ Three Links %
Fri. Sep. 23 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge %
Sat. Sep. 24 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge %
Mon. Sep. 26 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern #
Tue. Sep. 27 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios #
Fri. Oct. 14 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts @
Sat. Oct. 15 – Baltimore, MD @ Ottobar @
Sun. Oct. 16 – Asheville, NC @ The Mothlight @
Tue. Oct. 18 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl @
Wed. Oct. 19 – Nashville, TN @ The High Watt @
Fri. Oct. 21 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle @
Sat. Oct. 22 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club @
Sun. Oct. 23 – Madison, WI @ The Frequency @
Mon. Oct. 24 – Indianapolis, IN @The Hi-Fi @
Wed. Oct. 26 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern @
Thu. Oct. 27 – Montreal, QC @ Petit Campus @
Fri. Oct. 28 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg @
Sat. Oct. 29 – Boston, MA @ Cafe 939 at Berklee@
Tue. Nov. 1 – Paris, FR @ Point Ephemere
Wed. Nov. 2 – Luxembourg City, Luxembourg @ Rotonde
Wed. Nov. 3 – Lisbon, PT @ Cinema S. Jorge
Thu. Nov. 4 – Berlin, DE @ Kantine am Berghain
Fri. Nov. 5 – The Hague, NL @ Crossing Border Festival
Sun. Nov. 7 – London, UK @ Scala
Fri. Dec. 9 — Meredith, AU @ Meredith Music Festival

$ = with Be Gulls
* = with Meg Baird
^ = with Jack Name
% = with Big Search
# = with Hush Arbors
@ = with Delicate Steve