Cass McCombs And Meat Puppets Reveal Split 7″

Cass McCombs And Meat Puppets Announce Limited Split 7" Single, Out 10/28 On Domino, Cass McCombs and Meat Pupets start tour 8/16 at Poppy and Harriet's

In news sure to thrill fans of both, the enigmatic Cass McCombs and country-punk icons Meat Puppets are commemorating their upcoming co-headline tour by releasing a split tour single. The limited edition 7″ will feature two new songs by McCombs, “Night Of The World” and “Evangeline”, and two new covers by the Puppets, “(Hey Baby), Que Paso”, originally by Texas Tornados, and “Cathy’s Clown”, by The Everly Brothers.

 The release has two art covers – one by Albert Herter, McCombs’ frequent collaborator, and the other by Cris Kirkwood from Meat Puppets. Continuing with the collaborative theme of the release, both Cass McCombs songs feature Joe Russo on drums and Jon Shaw on bass guitar. The Meat Puppets are Curt Kirkwood, Cris Kirkwood, Elmo Kirkwood, and Shandon Sahm.

 This special release from two generations of maverick artists, in cahoots for the first time, will be available October 28th 2014 on Domino Record Co. Only 500 copies will be pressed worldwide.


Cass McCombs – Night Of The World

Cass McCombs – Evangeline

Meat Puppets – (Hey Baby), Que Paso

Meat Puppets – Cathy’s Clown

Cass McCombs’ most recent release, 2013’s Big Wheel and Others, gave us a portrait of an artist at his most devastatingly powerful. Brimming with pain and passion, truth and beauty, desperation and humor, the 22-song collection is McCombs laid bare, and an immediate, undeniable reminder that he is one of this country’s finest storytellers.

It has been nearly 29 years since Meat Puppets last released an EP on vinyl – the band’s ‘Out My Way’ 1986 EP release on SST. And like that crunchy affair, which resulted in chestnut covers “Good Golly Miss Molly” and eventual bonus tracks “Burn the Honky Tonk Down” and “I Just Want To Make Love To You”, the Puppets have turned their cards over to once again reveal timeless classic versions of the Everly Brothers and the Texas Tornadoes.

Such revered artists suit the Puppets like the proverbial Savile Row tailor.  Count the Kirkwood brothers as able as any at tracking the harmonic reach of Don and Phil.  Deem it noteworthy as well that “Cathy’s Clown” serves as the debut Meat Puppets appearance of Elmo Kirkwood on guitar and vocals.  The Texas Tornadoes are also prime territory for the Meat Puppets, right down to the Doug Sahm connection; here, Doug’s youngest son, Shandon Sahm, takes over on drums for “Hey Baby (Que Paso)”.




Sat. Aug. 16 – Pioneertown, CA – Pappy & Harriet’s

Wed. Oct. 1 – Pomona, CA @ The Glass House ^

Thu. Oct. 2 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda Theatre ^

Fri. Oct. 3 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda Theatre ^

Sun. Oct. 5 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore ^

Mon. Oct. 6 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore ^

Tue. Oct. 21 – St. Louis, MO @ Duck Room at Blueberry Hill *

Wed. Oct. 22 – Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon *

Thu. Oct. 23 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle *

Fri. Oct. 24 – Columbus, OH @ The A&R Music Bar *

Sat. Oct. 25 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Cafe *

Mon. Oct. 27 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts *

Tue. Oct. 28 – Pawtucket, RI @ The Met Cafe *

Wed. Oct. 29 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair *

Thu. Oct. 30 – South Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground Showcase Lounge *

Fri. Oct. 31 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade *

Sat. Nov. 1 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade *

Sun. Nov 2 – Washington, DC @ The Black Cat *

Tue. Nov. 4 – Chapel Hill, NC @ Local 506 *

Wed. Nov. 5 – Atlanta, GA @ Vinyl *

Fri. Nov. 7 – Houston, TX @ Fitzgerald’s Downstairs *

Fri. Nov. 28 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Crescent Ballroom *

Sat. Nov. 29 – San Diego, CA @ The Casbah *

Tue. Dec. 2 – West Hollywood, CA @ Troubadour *

Wed. Dec. 3 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent *

Fri. Dec. 5 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos *

Sat. Dec. 6 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge *

^ with The War On Drugs
* with Meat Puppets

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *