A Place To Bury Strangers Share Video

A Place To Bury Strangers Share new video for "Straight"

Just two weeks ago, A Place To Bury Strangers announced their new album, Transfixiation (out Feb. 17th on Dead Oceans), and shared the first single, “Straight.” The album is an experimental step forward for the band and the recorded sound comes closest to the intense level of its infamous live shows. Today, they’re back with an excellent new video for “Straight,” which was directed by Brook Linder. In the video, the signal of a television channel is hijacked and the viewer is launched into a nightmare of analog psychedelia and haunted pop culture imagery, as if the distortion reveals a sort of malevolent presence. The concept was influenced by Linder’s childhood years spent trying to make out distorted HBO and strange urban legends like the Max Headroom signal intrusion of 1987. All the effects were dubbed to VHS, run through analog synthesizers and brought back to match the band’s analog effected sound. A Place To Bury Strangers will tour extensively across the U.S. and Europe next year including a performance at Austin Psych Fest. A full list of tour dates is below.

A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS TOUR DATES:
Tue. Feb. 17 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Wed. Feb. 18 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts : Black Box
Thu. Feb. 19 – Baltimore, MD @ Metro Gallery
Fri. Feb. 20 – Washington, DC @ Rock N’ Roll Hotel
Sat. Feb. 21 – Asheville, NC @ New Mountain Theatre
Sun. Feb. 22 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Mon. Feb. 23 – Nashville, TN @ The End
Wed. Feb. 25 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa
Thur. Feb. 26 – Houston, TX @ Fitzgerald’s Downstairs
Fri. Feb. 27 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada
Sat. Feb. 28 – Austin, TX @ Red 7
Wed. Mar. 4 – Oklahoma City, OH @ The Conservatory
Fri. Mar. 6 – Albuquerque, NM @ Sister Bar
Sat. Mar. 7 – El Paso, TX @ Lowbrow Palace
Mon. Mar. 9 – Tuscon, AZ @ Club Congress
Tue. Mar. 10 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Wed. Mar. 11 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah
Fri. Mar. 13 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst Atrium
Sat. Mar. 14 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel
Sun. Mar. 15 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Tue. Mar. 17 – Portland, OR @ Star Theater
Wed. Mar. 18 – Seattle, WA @ Crocodile
Tue. March 31 – Dublin, IE @ The Workmans Club
Wed. April 1 – Belfast, IE @ Voodoo
Thu. April 2 – Glasgow, UK @ King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut
Fri. April 3 – Leeds, UK @ Belgrave Music Hall
Sun. April 5 – Manchester, UK @ Sound Control Basement
Mon. April 6 – Nottingham, UK @ The Bodega Social Club
Tue. April 7 – Birmingham, UK @ The Rainbow
Wed. April 8 – Cardiff, UK @ Clwb lfor Bach
Thu. April 9 – London, UK @ Oslo
Sat. April 11 – Lille, FR @ La Peniche
Sun. April 12 – Ris-Orangis, FR @ Le Plan
Mon. April 13 – Paris, FR @ Le Divan du Monde
Tue. April 14 – Lyon, FR @ Le Marche Gare
Thu. April 16 – Zurich, CH @ Viadukt – Bogen F
Fri. April 17 – Bologna, IT @ Locomotiv
Sat. April 18 – Düdingen, CH @ Cafe Bad Bonn
Sun. April 19 – Munich, DE @ Strom
Tue. April 21 – Berlin, DE @ Lido
Wed. April 22 – Cologne, DE @ Underground
Thu. April 23 – Courtrai, BE @ De Kreun
Fri. April 24 – Amsterdam, NL @ Melkweg
Sat. April 25 – Groningen, NL @ Vera
Mon. April 27 – Hamburg, DE @ Hafenklang
Tue. April 28 – Copenhagen DK @ BETA
Wed. April 29 – Malmo, SE @ Babel
Thu. April 30 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Fri. May 1 – Stockholm, SE @ Debaser Strand
Sat. May 2 – Oslo, NO @ John Dee
Fri. May 8-Sun. May 10 – Austin, TX @ Austin Psych Fest

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *