Miike Snow is a Swedish indie pop band formed in 2007. The band consists of producing team Bloodshy & Avant (Christian Karlsson and Pontus Winnberg) and Andrew Wyatt. The band is often represented by a silhouette image of a jackalope.
Miike Snow was formed in 2007 in Stockholm, Sweden. Band members Christian Karlsson and Pontus Winnberg were childhood friends who spent time playing in bands and working on various projects in studios throughout the city of Gothenburg. Karlsson used to be a member of Swedish hip-hop band Goldmine, who toured with The Fugees. After separate moves to Stockholm, they reunited in 2000. In 2004, whilst working on writing a pop album for Britney Spears, the duo met the third band member, American songwriter Andrew Wyatt.

Karlsson and Winnberg collaborated under the moniker Bloodshy & Avant, and enjoyed a significant amount of success as producers and songwriters. They have worked with artists such as Madonna, Kylie Minogue, Kelis, Sky Ferreira, and won a Grammy Award for Best Dance Recording for Spears’s track “Toxic”.

The name “Miike Snow” is said to have come from one of their friends named Mike Snow, with the spelling of “Miike” coming from the Japanese film director Takashi Miike. The band members are known to enjoy frequent crabbing trips together, although Karlsson has said publicly that he has a phobia of open water and boats.

Miike Snow is Miike Snow’s eponymous debut album. It was recorded in Stockholm and released in the United States on 9 June 2009 by Downtown Records. A single for the track “Animal” was released on 17 February 2009. Upon a UK release of the song later in the same year, the track reached number 98 on the UK Singles Chart. It is used as the theme music for the British Channel 4 sitcom Friday Night Dinner. The second single was “Black & Blue”. Both singles have made the BBC Radio 1 Playlist B-List.

The Guardian spoke highly of the band, saying Miike Snow’s “coolly emotional pop suggests a-ha meets Animal Collective.”[2] In an interview for, Wyatt revealed their unexpected popularity, saying, “I don’t think our project was that thought out when we started. We just wanted to make music together. Three people just messing about. I don’t think we anticipated the level of attention that it’s getting right now. We didn’t even think about touring when we started the album.”

Miike Snow have remixed tracks for Depeche Mode, Passion Pit, Peter Bjorn and John, Kings of Leon, I Blame Coco and Vampire Weekend. Their music has been remixed by Mark Ronson, Crookers, Peter Bjorn and John, Treasure Fingers, Tiga, Caspa, Style of Eye, Emalkay, Fake Blood, Benny Blanco, Savage Skulls, Netsky, Hood Internet and DJ Mehdi, amongst others. A remix of the song “Silvia” by DJ’s Sebastian Ingrosso and Dirty South was released on 2 April 2010.

Their song “In Search Of” was originally a collaboration with Crookers for the song “Remedy”. The band liked the end result so much that they decided to create their own version for their album.

In 2011 they won an European Border Breakers Award for their international success. Every year the European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA) recognize the success of ten emerging artists or groups who reached audiences outside their own countries with their first internationally released album in the past year.

In 2012 the band toured the United States.

Johnossi streams "Into The Wild" the single off their upcoming album Transitions which is Due Out on April 29th

Johnossi streams “Into The Wild”

Swedish duo Johnossi (that’s John Engelbert and Oskar “Ossi” Bonde) have a new album calledTransitions, due out April 29. (Fun fact: it was produced by Bjorn Yttling of Peter Bjorn and John.) For those,

Read More
Andrew Wyatt releases video for "Septimus"

Andrew Wyatt of Miike Snow New Video

Septimus…” by Miike Snow frontman Andrew Wyatt. Directed by Sebastian Mlynarski, the video follows Andrew serenading the locals on a dawn-till-dusk exploration of Buenos Aires, singing from a microphone connected to the longest cable known to man.

Read More
Andrew Wyatt shares a new song entitled 'Harlem Boyzz'

Andrew Wyatt (Miike Snow) shares new song

With his first solo album, Descender, due out in a few weeks’ time, Miike Snow-frontman Andrew Wyatt has shared a new track, in the form of the lush ‘Harlem Boyzz’. While the strings and flutes of Prague’s Philharmonic Orchestra soar overhead

Read More
miike snow descender

Miike Snow Making of ‘Descender’ Documentary

Grammy-nominated artist Andrew Wyatt, better known to most as the front man of revered electronic pop group Miike Snow, has released a documentary providing a compelling look into the aesthetic and process of making his forthcoming debut album.

Read More