The Chase, the first album by Montreal band Groenland, will be available on April 16th through Bonsound. Formed by Sabrina Halde (lead vocals, ukelele, keyboards, percussions) and Jean-Vivier Lévesque (keyboards and programming), the band’s music is made up of warm orchestral indie pop tunes with a touch of electro. Produced by critically-acclaimed Quebecois singer-songwriter Philippe B and Guido Del Fabbro (Pierre Lapointe), the opus is the realization of the band’s long-standing dream.

It was during the fall of 2011, while sharing a bunker in Toronto, that Sabrina and Jean-Vivier solidified their common desire to put together a band. At the beginning, we wanted to do electro music, but we found that kind of boring, says Jean-Vivier. So we decided to add more and more fun instruments to the mix. That’s when Jonathan Charette (drums), Simon Gosselin (bass), Gabrielle Girard-Charest (cello) and Fanny C. Laurin (violin) joined the ranks of the band.